Frank Smith

Nineties (Big Snow)

SXSW 2013 Records

Frank Smith

Nineties (Big Snow)

Boston transplants Frank Smith wove Northwestern roots with Austin on three previous local releases, fusing the two most successfully on 2012's Before You Were Born. With April full-length Nineties, the quartet takes another turn in era homage. While mostly eschewing acoustic guitars, Aaron Sinclair and company haven't abandoned their acquired country leanings. Rather, they've morphed them into Pavement and Sonic Youth-inspired guitar rock. "Beaten Sacks of Death" broods in controlled bursts of guitar climbs, whining at the top in a Western signature. "It's So Easy" refracts lingering guitar work and ambient echoes, still managing a punching, explosive chorus. Despite the shift, Frank Smith shines at pared-down ballads like "Chewing Glass." It's simple storytelling, something the band perfected in folk-rock forays. (1am, Creekside at Hilton Garden Inn)


A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 36 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

More Frank Smith
Texas Platters
Frank Smith
Before You Were Born (Record Review)

Abby Johnston, Jan. 27, 2012

Texas Platters
Frank Smith
Nineteen (Record Review)

Doug Freeman, Nov. 26, 2010

More Music Reviews
Texas Platters
The Crack Pipes
Fake Eyelashes (Record Review)

Tim Stegall, Nov. 9, 2018

Texas Platters
Texacala Jones
Pony Island Express (Record Review)

Tim Stegall, Nov. 9, 2018

More by Abby Johnston
ACL Live Review: Shakey Graves
Live Shot: Shakey Graves
One-man-band no more

Oct. 8, 2018

ACL Live Review: St. Vincent
Live Shot: St. Vincent
yes I said yes I will Yes

Oct. 7, 2018


Frank Smith

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Updates for SXSW 2019

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle