19 entries
Opinion: Parks Have Been our Refuge During the Pandemic. Using Them Responsibly Is the Only Way to Keep Them Open.
Parks Have Been our Refuge During the Pandemic. Using Them Responsibly Is the Only Way to Keep Them Open.
The CEO of Austin Parks Foundation asks you to respect our green space and the PARD staff working to maintain it

Colin Wallis, May 28, 2020

Opinion: To Prepare for Future Shocks, Austin Must Get Weirder
To Prepare for Future Shocks, Austin Must Get Weirder
Becoming truly weird means becoming a futurist, argues Jake Dunagan

Jake Dunagan, May 21, 2020

Opinion: Diversity and Equity in Times of Crisis
Diversity and Equity in Times of Crisis

Jeff Hutchinson, May 14, 2020

Opinion – Now or Never: Hold the Superintendent Accountable to Communities of Color
Opinion – Now or Never: Hold the Superintendent Accountable to Communities of Color
The search for a new AISD superintendent is a critical opportunity to rethink priorities

Danielle C.H. Wright, May 7, 2020

Opinion: We Can’t Let Coronavirus Distract Us From Data Collection and Climate Change
We Can’t Let Coronavirus Distract Us From Data Collection and Climate Change
We cannot give companies slack on environmental regulations during the pandemic – and that includes those running energy-gorging data centers

Tracy O’Neill, April 30, 2020

Opinion: In Permian Highway Pipeline Fight, Property Rights Are the Answer
In Permian Highway Pipeline Fight, Property Rights Are the Answer
Eminent domain reform allows us to protect our environment and the rights of Texas landowners simultaneously

Cutter W. González, April 30, 2020

Opinion: Online Reviews Are Where Our Kids Are Learning How to Bully Online
Online Reviews Are Where Our Kids Are Learning How to Bully Online
A restaurant industry veteran argues Yelp and other review sites encourage bullying behavior

Mike Tersigni, April 23, 2020

Opinion: Because of COVID-19, It’s Less Safe Behind Bars. Here’s How Federal Prisoners Can Petition to Get Their Sentences Reduced.
Because of COVID-19, It’s Less Safe Behind Bars. Here’s How Federal Prisoners Can Petition to Get Their Sentences Reduced.
Criminal defense attorney Chris Perri explains avenues for early prison release in Texas

Chris Perri, April 23, 2020

Opinion: U.S. Sen. John Cornyn’s Comments Scapegoat, Endanger, and Distract
U.S. Sen. John Cornyn’s Comments Scapegoat, Endanger, and Distract
The senator has put his Asian American constituents in harm’s way, while giving cover to the government’s anemic response to the COVID-19 pandemic

Nick Bloom, April 16, 2020

Opinion: Anti-Asian Racism Compounds the COVID-19 Crisis for Immigrant Victims of Domestic Violence
Anti-Asian Racism Compounds the COVID-19 Crisis for Immigrant Victims of Domestic Violence
AFSSA Executive Director Darlene Lanham asks Central Texans to take a stand against coronavirus-motivated racism and to support our Asian communities

Darlene Lanham, April 16, 2020

Opinion: Ten Days in March at L’Oca d’Oro
Ten Days in March at L’Oca d’Oro
Living wages and paid sick leave are built into L’Oca d’Oro’s DNA. But without a government plan in place – for testing, sanitation checks, financial relief – co-owner Adam Orman explains why they’ve had to close their doors... for now.

Adam Orman, April 9, 2020

Opinion: Capitalism Has Failed Americans in This Crisis
Capitalism Has Failed Americans in This Crisis
The COVID-19 pandemic has exposed longstanding structural problems. This is an opportunity to re-think our systems before they collapse.

Marina Roberts, April 9, 2020

Opinion: As Educators Scramble to “Do School” During a Pandemic, Tremendous Inequities Are Evident
As Educators Scramble to “Do School” During a Pandemic, Tremendous Inequities Are Evident
What the shift to remote learning means for students who already had fewer resources and more hurdles to clear

Autumn A. Arnett, April 2, 2020

Opinion: Coronavirus Is Exposing the Threat the Texas GOP Poses to Public Health
Coronavirus Is Exposing the Threat the Texas GOP Poses to Public Health
Cristina Tzintzún Ramirez explains why a government that takes care of its people builds a healthier and safer country

Cristina Tzintzún Ramirez, March 26, 2020

Opinion: AISD Is Perpetuating a Historic Racial Dividing Line
AISD Is Perpetuating a Historic Racial Dividing Line
Annika Olson of UT-Austin’s Institute for Urban Policy Research & Analysis urges AISD to reconsider its School Changes plan for elementary school closures

Annika Olson, March 19, 2020

Opinion: Suffragettes of White Supremacy
Suffragettes of White Supremacy
Ashley Cheng, co-host of the Rabble podcast, looks at the history of racism in Austin’s suffrage movement

Ashley Cheng, March 12, 2020

Opinion: A Plea for Red Flag Laws
A Plea for Red Flag Laws
Emma Bribiescas Mancha-Sumners lost her niece in a homicide last year. She believes stronger gun laws could have saved her niece’s life.

Emma Bribiescas Mancha-Sumners, March 5, 2020

Opinion: LCRA’s Water Marketing Ambitions Could Lower the Colorado River Below Austin
LCRA’s Water Marketing Ambitions Could Lower the Colorado River Below Austin
Environmental activist Rusty Middleton raises concerns over a groundwater pumping plan

Rusty Middleton, Feb. 20, 2020

Opinion: The War on Drugs Got It Wrong
The War on Drugs Got It Wrong
“No one is disposable,” writes David Johnson of Grassroots Leadership

David Johnson, Feb. 13, 2020

NEWSLETTERS
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

New recipes and food news delivered Mondays

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle