1-30 of 94 entries
Opinion: Wildfires Are Coming to Central Texas. Be Prepared.
Wildfires Are Coming to Central Texas. Be Prepared.
As we move into the summer, a drought has enveloped Texas, increasing the risk of wildfires in the Austin area

Vi Burgess, May 19, 2022

Opinion: Wake-Up Calls for Our Fossil Fuel Addiction
Wake-Up Calls for Our Fossil Fuel Addiction
Kicking our fossil fuel addiction is good for the climate, our health, our economy, and geopolitical stability

Bob Hendricks, May 12, 2022

Opinion: The Case to Keep Leander Connected
The Case to Keep Leander Connected
A yes vote on Proposition A means continued transportation solutions

James Larsen, May 5, 2022

Opinion: Don’t Ask Texas Schoolchildren to Fund Your Corporate Expansion
Don’t Ask Texas Schoolchildren to Fund Your Corporate Expansion
Central Texas Interfaith calls on tech companies to withdraw their applications for Chapter 313 tax breaks

Michael Floyd, April 21, 2022

Opinion: When It Comes to Health Care in Austin, There Can Be No Equity Without Accountability
When It Comes to Health Care in Austin, There Can Be No Equity Without Accountability
It’s time for the Travis County Commissioners Court to order an independent performance audit of Central Health

Nelson Linder, April 21, 2022

Opinion: Future of STEM Needs Collaboration and Diverse Voices
Future of STEM Needs Collaboration and Diverse Voices
Why it’s important to empower all girls to innovate through media and technology

Laura Donnelly, March 24, 2022

Opinion: On Anniversary of Atlanta Spa Shootings, Asian Americans Still Erased in Texas
On Anniversary of Atlanta Spa Shootings, Asian Americans Still Erased in Texas
With the State Board of Education updating our history curriculum, we have an opportunity now to highlight Asian American narratives for future generations of Texas students

Ashley Cheng, March 17, 2022

Opinion: Austin Can Do Better Than Crypto
Austin Can Do Better Than Crypto
As a city that values equity, we shouldn’t prop up an exploitative scam

Mike Siegel, March 17, 2022

Opinion: Brené Brown – Join Our Union and Take Another Principled Stand
Brené Brown – Join Our Union and Take Another Principled Stand
Union organizers argue the UT administration remains beholden to a political leadership that regularly dismisses students’ and workers’ concerns

Sol Weiner, March 3, 2022

Opinion: The Texas Grid: A Tale of Profits Over People
The Texas Grid: A Tale of Profits Over People
One year after Winter Storm Uri, Rep. Gina Hinojosa reflects on still-needed improvements

Rep. Gina Hinojosa, Feb. 17, 2022

Opinion: We Have Faith. Now We Need Clean Air.
We Have Faith. Now We Need Clean Air.
Addressing methane emissions through robust pollution standards is critical to our future

Bee Moorhead, Feb. 10, 2022

Opinion: Who Pays $278 Million: Austin Taxpayers or Private Developers?
Who Pays $278 Million: Austin Taxpayers or Private Developers?
Council should not vote to divert city tax dollars to the south shore property owners

Bill Bunch, Feb. 3, 2022

Opinion: Antisemitism Grows in Troubling Times but We Are All Part of the Same Biblical Tree
Antisemitism Grows in Troubling Times but We Are All Part of the Same Biblical Tree
Recent antisemitic events in Austin and Texas have roots in previous eras of nationalism and political discord

Bob Feiner, Jan. 27, 2022

Opinion: Let’s Double ACC’s Nursing Program
Let’s Double ACC’s Nursing Program
We need more nurses now, and Austin Community College’s highly ranked RN program is the place to make that happen

Steve Jackobs, Jan. 27, 2022

Opinion: Want to Correct “Learning Loss” in Texas Schools? Listen to Texas Students.
Want to Correct “Learning Loss” in Texas Schools? Listen to Texas Students.
To improve students’ experience in school and their capacity to learn, student voices need to be amplified

Haley DeVos-Roy, Jan. 20, 2022

Opinion: It’s Time to Hold Social Media Platforms Accountable
It’s Time to Hold Social Media Platforms Accountable
We do not need another TikTok video inviting or suggesting school violence

Annika Olson, Jan. 13, 2022

Opinion: Texas Abortion Ban Is an Attack on Free Speech
Texas Abortion Ban Is an Attack on Free Speech
SB 8 restricts the right of an individual to use their voice to help another person procure an abortion

Rachel Osterloh, Dec. 22, 2021

Opinion: Be Kind With Refugees
Be Kind With Refugees
Immigrants should be celebrated for the contributions they bring to society, not feared or despised

Derrick Bonyuet, Dec. 9, 2021

Opinion: Why I’m Not Sweating the STAAR Test Anymore
Why I’m Not Sweating the STAAR Test Anymore
A Texas student explains why standardized testing seems like a big waste of time and money

Aina Marzia, Dec. 2, 2021

Opinion: Texas Gas Programs Not a Solution to Climate Change
Texas Gas Programs Not a Solution to Climate Change
The main provider of natural gas to the Austin area has a profoundly flawed climate policy, and is spending substantial funds on greenwashed conservation programs

Paul Robbins, Nov. 24, 2021

Opinion: Surviving Whole in a Broken System
Surviving Whole in a Broken System
Caregiver violence is a form of abuse that affects thousands of Texans with disabilities. And yet, there is a constant need for more caregivers.

Renee Lopez, Nov. 18, 2021

Opinion: Why Local Farms Matter
Why Local Farms Matter
Lucia Sewing-Cole of Good Apple on how to be a more ethical food consumer

Lucia Sewing-Cole, Nov. 11, 2021

Opinion: Where Did the Money Go?
Where Did the Money Go?
Rep. Vikki Goodwin questions why more than $5 billion in federal funds intended to help students has been diverted into the state coffers

Vikki Goodwin, Nov. 4, 2021

Opinion: PACE Program May Provide Pandemic Lifeline to Businesses, Nonprofits, Private Schools
PACE Program May Provide Pandemic Lifeline to Businesses, Nonprofits, Private Schools
Travis County Commissioner Brigid Shea and Travis County Tax Assessor-Collector Bruce Elfant make the case for a clean energy program

Brigid Shea, Sept. 30, 2021

Opinion: Austin’s Sustainability Efforts Need Anti-Displacement Tools
Austin’s Sustainability Efforts Need Anti-Displacement Tools
An environmental policy advocate explains why urban planning and increased sustainability efforts must address gentrification as Austin's people are just an integral to Austin as its infrastructure is.

Chelsea Gómez, Sept. 23, 2021

Opinion: Bring Back East Avenue – Downtown Is No Place for a 20-lane Death Machine
Bring Back East Avenue – Downtown Is No Place for a 20-lane Death Machine
The case for running freeways around cities, rather than through them

Chris Riley, Sept. 16, 2021

Opinion: Oak Hill Road Plan Is Taxpayer Abuse
Oak Hill Road Plan Is Taxpayer Abuse
The argument against TxDOT's plan for a freeway flyover at the intersection of U.S. 290 and Texas 71

Carol Cespedes, Sept. 16, 2021

Opinion: Investing in Working-Class Communities Is Central to Our Public Safety
Investing in Working-Class Communities Is Central to Our Public Safety
Travis County D.A. Jose Garza argues we must invest time and resources the root cause of crime – instability

José Garza, Sept. 9, 2021

Opinion: Texas Republicans Want to Jail People in Poverty Indefinitely and Call It “Reform”
Texas Republicans Want to Jail People in Poverty Indefinitely and Call It “Reform”
Almost 75% of people sitting in Texas jails have not been convicted of any crime; they simply can't afford to go home

Kenna Titus, Aug. 26, 2021

Opinion: The Task for UT Staff and Faculty This Fall
The Task for UT Staff and Faculty This Fall
Building confidence in students will need to be a priority for the UT community

Avani Chhaya, Aug. 12, 2021

1   2   3   4     NEXT    4 »
NEWSLETTERS
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Behind the scenes at The Austin Chronicle

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle