1-30 of 56 entries
Opinion: We Still Haven’t Solved Austin’s Public Transit Problems
We Still Haven’t Solved Austin’s Public Transit Problems
People don't get out of their cars to use public transit because it's inefficient

Barbara Epstein, May 6, 2021

Opinion: Texas' Anti-LGBTQIA Bills Are Cruelty Aimed at My Transgender Patients
Texas' Anti-LGBTQIA Bills Are Cruelty Aimed at My Transgender Patients
A physician caring for transgender patients and the sister of a transgender man explains how discriminatory policies impact lifelong health

Aliza Norwood, April 29, 2021

Opinion: The Extreme Anti-Abortion Agenda Being Pushed Forward at the Texas Lege Is Harmful and Cruel
The Extreme Anti-Abortion Agenda Being Pushed Forward at the Texas Lege Is Harmful and Cruel
Texans deserve the trust and the power to decide what is best for them, their bodies, and their futures

Courtney Chambers, April 15, 2021

Opinion: A Tragedy, Upon a Tragedy, Upon Another Tragedy; or, the Death and Despair of Jail Inmates
A Tragedy, Upon a Tragedy, Upon Another Tragedy; or, the Death and Despair of Jail Inmates
Law professor Ron Beal argues that Gov. Abbott, under the cover of the pandemic, has usurped the power of the judicial branch

Ron Beal, April 8, 2021

Opinion: Over 200,000 Asian People in Central Texas Feel the Heartache of Georgia. Do You?
Over 200,000 Asian People in Central Texas Feel the Heartache of Georgia. Do You?
Central Texas leaders and community members should stand against anti-Asian hate through specific actions

Darlene Lanham, April 1, 2021

Opinion: White Privilege in Austin’s Unhoused Community
White Privilege in Austin’s Unhoused Community
Alberta Phillips, chair of the ECHO Board of Governors, explains the kind of racism that can lock Black people into a lifetime of living unsheltered

Alberta Phillips, March 18, 2021

Opinion: Electric School Buses Are a Win for Kids’ Health, the Environment, and Our Community
Electric School Buses Are a Win for Kids’ Health, the Environment, and Our Community
There’s no safe level of exposure to diesel fumes for children, and yet our kids spend hours each week breathing fumes on diesel buses

Mary Beth Bennett, March 11, 2021

Opinion: We Need to Prioritize Our Service Workers
We Need to Prioritize Our Service Workers
Olamaie Executive Chef Michael Fojtasek: “The way to ensure the health and livelihoods of service industry people is through vaccination”

Michael Fojtasek, March 4, 2021

Opinion: The Problem in Texas Isn’t Republicans – It’s Capitalism
The Problem in Texas Isn’t Republicans – It’s Capitalism
To prevent last week's crises from recurring, we have to go beyond the Democrat vs. Republican culture wars and take back control of Texas' energy system.

Dave Pinkham, Feb. 25, 2021

Opinion: It’s Time to End the Oppressive Policing of Muslim Youth
It’s Time to End the Oppressive Policing of Muslim Youth
An organizer argues against the targeted surveillance and aggressive policing tactics being used against Muslim youth, along with their Black and brown allies

Ramish Nadeem, Feb. 18, 2021

Opinion: How to Win at Homelessness
How to Win at Homelessness
A young adult with lived experience in homelessness argues that Save Austin Now’s push to criminalize destitution is short-sighted

Summer Wright, Feb. 11, 2021

Opinion: Mother Nature / Murder Nurture
Mother Nature / Murder Nurture
A single mother tries to process the shock and grief of losing beloved pediatrician Dr. Lindley Dodson to murder

Katy Chrisler, Feb. 4, 2021

Opinion – Bridgerton: A Black Man in a White Fairytale
Opinion – Bridgerton: A Black Man in a White Fairytale
A professor of British literature argues that the popular Netflix series trivializes childhood trauma and marital sexual violence to get to a traditional “happily ever after”

Riya Das, Jan. 7, 2021

Opinion: Dr. Jill Biden Earned the Title – and the Right to Determine Her Identity
Dr. Jill Biden Earned the Title – and the Right to Determine Her Identity
For professional women whose expertise is so often questioned by men, “Dr.” is an essential distinction

Christine Julien, Dec. 30, 2020

Opinion: Drug Use Is the Reality for Millions. There Are Ways to Make It Safer.
Drug Use Is the Reality for Millions. There Are Ways to Make It Safer.
A paramedic and harm reductionist highlights resources in Austin to reduce risks associated with using drugs

Claire Zagorski, Dec. 23, 2020

Opinion: Breaking Up With 2020
Breaking Up With 2020

Fallon Franklin, Dec. 17, 2020

Opinion: Charity, Not Profiteering
Charity, Not Profiteering
Policy is needed to halt abuses in conservation

Ellen Gass, Dec. 10, 2020

Opinion: Don't Be Fooled – Universal Access to Health Care is a Good Thing
Don't Be Fooled – Universal Access to Health Care is a Good Thing
A medical student explains why universal health coverage is the fiscally responsible – and most moral – choice

Drew Sanderson, Nov. 19, 2020

Opinion: Progressive Policies Are Popular. That’s Why Austin Saw Big Wins on Election Night.
Progressive Policies Are Popular. That’s Why Austin Saw Big Wins on Election Night.
When candidates lead courageously, lean in to progressive values, and fight for what's right, they're able to positively impact people's lives and win, says Councilmember Greg Casar

Greg Casar, Nov. 12, 2020

Opinion: Let Go of Identity Politics and Vote
Let Go of Identity Politics and Vote
Turning Texas blue won't turn it into California

Anna Near, Oct. 29, 2020

Opinion: Medical Students Support Ballot Measures
Opinion: Medical Students Support Ballot Measures
Propositions A and B are key to a healthier future

Daniel R.Bamrick-Fernandez and Scott Spivey Provencio, Oct. 22, 2020

Opinion: Consider Health Care When You Vote
Consider Health Care When You Vote
Texas Nurses for Biden urge support of Biden / Harris ticket

Lorraine L. Papa, Oct. 15, 2020

Opinion: Why Texas Is Ground Zero for Change
Why Texas Is Ground Zero for Change
With untapped voting power of Latinos, Texas has enormous potential, but the Lone Star State must modernize to pave the way to a stronger, more inclusive America

Antonio Arellano, Oct. 8, 2020

Opinion: Even Post-COVID, A-F School Ranking System Should Get an F
Even Post-COVID, A-F School Ranking System Should Get an F
We should take this moment to evaluate the utility of the A-F system as a whole, as it does not sufficiently capture the nuance of the work being done in our schools

Rolf Straubhaar, Oct. 1, 2020

Opinion: The Texas State Board of Education is Failing LGBTQ+ Students
The Texas State Board of Education is Failing LGBTQ+ Students
School districts and families will need to pick up the slack left by SBOE’s recent decision to exclude sexual orientation and gender identity from the curriculum

Katherine Goldey, Sept. 17, 2020

Opinion: Time to Look in the Mirror on Housing
Time to Look in the Mirror on Housing
Builder David Whitworth asks, is protecting single family zoning a Republican or Democrat issue?

David Whitworth, Sept. 10, 2020

Opinion – Protecting Texas Alone: The UT System Has Failed Our Community
Opinion – Protecting Texas Alone: The UT System Has Failed Our Community
Underpaid at UT, a graduate student worker advocacy group, urgently calls for COVID protections

Underpaid@UT, Sept. 3, 2020

Opinion: The Importance of Feeling Heard
The Importance of Feeling Heard
How do we motivate people to vote? By showing them their elected leaders are listening.

Sandra Nicolas, Aug. 27, 2020

Opinion: Restaurants Need Federal Aid to Survive
Restaurants Need Federal Aid to Survive
Chef Kevin Fink of Emmer & Rye explains how and why you should support the RESTAURANTS Act

Kevin Fink, Aug. 13, 2020

Opinion: The Impossible Choice for Parents and Caregivers at the Border
The Impossible Choice for Parents and Caregivers at the Border
The inhumane treatment of adults and children migrants must stop

Natalie Fellows, Aug. 6, 2020

1   2     NEXT    2 »
NEWSLETTERS
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

New recipes and food news delivered Mondays

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle