1-30 of 159 entries
Opinion: Let’s Encourage Austin Restaurants to Switch to Reusables, Away From Single-Use Items
Let’s Encourage Austin Restaurants to Switch to Reusables, Away From Single-Use Items
Austin Reuse Coalition and Plastic Reduction Project want your help rating Austin restaurants’ commitment to reducing plastic use

Brandi Clark Burton, Feb. 29, 2024

Opinion: Dear Israel: I’m Stuck in the Middle With You
Dear Israel: I’m Stuck in the Middle With You
My parents taught me that the existence of Israel is essential. My children taught me that support for their violently racist policies is fascistic. There’s a middle position, even if it sometimes feels contradictory.

Cathy K. Brown, Feb. 22, 2024

Opinion: Cap Metro Must Safeguard No-Cost Transit for Unhoused Austinites
Cap Metro Must Safeguard No-Cost Transit for Unhoused Austinites
Adding security guards to transit centers and bus routes will increase stigmatization of the poor

Barry Jones, Feb. 15, 2024

Opinion: Preserving Culture Through Our Parents’ Cuisines
Preserving Culture Through Our Parents’ Cuisines
A child of immigrants writes about the importance of promoting cultural identity through food

Trishta Nguyen, Feb. 8, 2024

Opinion: A Modest Proposal for the Baddest, Reddest State in the Country
A Modest Proposal for the Baddest, Reddest State in the Country
A satirical look at the machinations of Gov. Abbott and the Texas Legislature to impose their wills on the rights of everyday Texans

Dan Acosta, Jan. 25, 2024

Opinion: St. Edward’s University Needs an On-Campus Early Voting Location
St. Edward’s University Needs an On-Campus Early Voting Location
Don’t deprive students of our voting power

Mya Barrera, Jan. 18, 2024

Opinion: City Council Must Call for a Cease-Fire
City Council Must Call for a Cease-Fire
Raising our voice in Austin is the minimum moral action we can take

Garrigan Stafford, Dec. 28, 2023

Opinion – Add My Name: An Open Letter in Support of Kate Cox
Opinion – Add My Name: An Open Letter in Support of Kate Cox
An Austin lawyer and mother of two responds to the devastating verdict denying a Texan the right to end her nonviable pregnancy

DeDe Church, Dec. 21, 2023

Opinion: Everything’s Bigger in Texas ... Until You Look at Supportive LGBTQ+ Public Policies
Everything’s Bigger in Texas ... Until You Look at Supportive LGBTQ+ Public Policies
“I should feel safe, secure, and confident in myself to be a gay Texan student”

Guilleremo Gudino, Dec. 14, 2023

Opinion: No Home Sweet HOME for Austin’s Black and Latino Communities
No Home Sweet HOME for Austin’s Black and Latino Communities
A member of the Planning Commission argues that Austin’s proposed new land use plan would result in another major forced relocation of Austin’s Latino community and its dwindling Black community

Alberta Phillips, Dec. 7, 2023

Opinion: We Need to Break the Barriers for Texans With Old Records
We Need to Break the Barriers for Texans With Old Records
Maggie Luna, an Austin resident and mom of three, writes about her experience in the Texas prison system and how a rehabilitation center changed her life

Maggie Luna, Nov. 30, 2023

Opinion: The HOME Act Will Help Keep Austin Affordable and the American Dream Alive
The HOME Act Will Help Keep Austin Affordable and the American Dream Alive
Affordable housing in great locations helped my immigrant parents thrive in America

Valerie Zhang, Nov. 22, 2023

Opinion: Public Transit Alone Won’t Fix Traffic Woes. Is Congestion Pricing the Solution?
Public Transit Alone Won’t Fix Traffic Woes. Is Congestion Pricing the Solution?
This lesser-known traffic control strategy encourages the diversion of traffic through ulterior routes, means, or times

Aarnav Chitari, Nov. 9, 2023

Opinion: A True Public Dialogue Is Needed About Taxpayer-Funded Corporate Giveaways
A True Public Dialogue Is Needed About Taxpayer-Funded Corporate Giveaways
Governments that give incentives need to make sure they we getting as much as possible – our money’s worth

Michael Floyd, Nov. 2, 2023

Opinion: I’m a Chaplain. Here’s Why I Oppose Replacing School Counselors With Chaplains.
I’m a Chaplain. Here’s Why I Oppose Replacing School Counselors With Chaplains.
As a chaplain and school volunteer, the Rev. Deborah Reeves explains why school districts should reject the option to install chaplains in public schools

Deborah Reeves, Oct. 26, 2023

Opinion: What’s Really Wrong at Austin Animal Services
What’s Really Wrong at Austin Animal Services
Former AAS Chief Tawny Hammond on how Austin can once again be a leader in the no-kill movement

Tawny Hammond, Oct. 19, 2023

Opinion: Vouchers’ Ripple Effect – How They Threaten Texas’ Teacher Retirement System
Vouchers’ Ripple Effect – How They Threaten Texas’ Teacher Retirement System
Texas state Rep. Vikki Goodwin makes the case against public school vouchers

Vikki Goodwin, Oct. 12, 2023

Opinion: Patients Shouldn’t Be Charged More by Hospital-Owned Practices Than Physician-Owned Practices
Patients Shouldn’t Be Charged More by Hospital-Owned Practices Than Physician-Owned Practices
An Austin physician urges Congress to act to ensure patients receive the same services for the same prices

Nancy Binford, Oct. 5, 2023

Opinion: The Conflict of Interest at the Center of AI Regulation Talks
The Conflict of Interest at the Center of AI Regulation Talks
Should Congress really be asking top tech CEOs how best to regulate their industry?

Jane Bernhard, Sept. 28, 2023

Opinion: Minimum Lot Size Reform Is Gaining Traction in Texas Cities. That’s a Good Thing.
Minimum Lot Size Reform Is Gaining Traction in Texas Cities. That’s a Good Thing.
Austin should follow Houston’s lead and embrace this solution to address our housing affordability problem

Jake Wegmann, Sept. 14, 2023

Opinion: The Outdoor Recreation Economy in Texas Depends on EPA Safeguards
The Outdoor Recreation Economy in Texas Depends on EPA Safeguards
An Austin bike shop owner on why the climate crisis isn’t just bad for the environment – it’s bad for business, too

Brad Wimberly, Aug. 24, 2023

Opinion: Now Is Not the Time to Loosen Child Labor Regulations – Especially in Dangerous Industries
Now Is Not the Time to Loosen Child Labor Regulations – Especially in Dangerous Industries
Child labor laws are trending in the wrong direction and we are putting children’s health and development at risk. Now is the time to advocate for legislative changes at the state and national levels.

Hope Ferdowsian, July 20, 2023

Opinion: The Case Against Disposable Food Ware
The Case Against Disposable Food Ware
Austinites should be a part of the solution and eliminate plastic, single-use items from the waste stream

Jessica Fleming, June 29, 2023

Opinion: Austin’s Nature Gap
Austin’s Nature Gap
Access to nature isn’t equitable, particularly for low-income and minority neighborhoods. We can do better for our kids.

Kathleen Schneeman, June 15, 2023

Opinion: If We’re Outlawing Drag, Can We Please Burn Down Hooters Next?
If We’re Outlawing Drag, Can We Please Burn Down Hooters Next?

Mae Joldersma, June 8, 2023

Opinion: End the Witch Hunt, Let LGBTQIA+ Texans Thrive
End the Witch Hunt, Let LGBTQIA+ Texans Thrive
The 88th Texas Legislature will be remembered for its baseless attacks on queer Texans

Garrett R. Chase, June 1, 2023

Opinion: House Bill 7 Will Not Only Endanger the Lives of Migrants, but of All Texans
House Bill 7 Will Not Only Endanger the Lives of Migrants, but of All Texans
HB 7 is dangerously far-reaching. But we should also be worried about what it doesn’t say.

Hortencia Rodríguez Sandoval, May 25, 2023

Opinion: How to Stay Mindful in the Face of Fascism
How to Stay Mindful in the Face of Fascism
A satirical guide to maintaining your personal mental health and well-being while your queer, trans, BIPOC, and non-Christian neighbors consider fleeing Texas

Aubree Brown, May 18, 2023

Opinion: Teachers Can No Longer Afford to Live in Texas
Teachers Can No Longer Afford to Live in Texas
Senate Bill 9 is an insult to teachers

Cary Beshel, May 18, 2023

Opinion: UT Shouldn’t Prioritize Football Over Historic Preservation
UT Shouldn’t Prioritize Football Over Historic Preservation
The university needs to preserve its cultural heritage, not prioritize another football facility

Edwin Bautista, May 11, 2023

1   2   3   4   5   6     NEXT    6 »
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle