Austin Arts Hall of Fame
Critics Table Honors Cultural Heroes

To celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Austin Critics Table Awards, member critics are inducting 12 individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the community through the arts into the newly established Austin Arts Hall of Fame.

To celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Austin Critics Table Awards, member critics will induct the first members of the Austin Arts Hall of Fame at the Critics Table Awards ceremony this Monday, June 3. The 12 honorees to be inducted have all made significant contributions to the local community through the arts over many years, as artists, as educators, as friends of and advocates for the arts. The first class of inductees includes:

John Aielli (KUT-90.5 FM) -- broadcaster, singer, arts advocate

Paul Beutel (Austin Theatre Alliance) -- administrator, critic, actor

Ruth Denney (University of Texas) -- educator, director, school founder

Acia Gray (Tapestry Dance Company) -- dancer, choreographer, company co-founder

Deborah Hay (Deborah Hay Dance Company) -- dancer, choreographer, author, company founder

Kent Kennan (University of Texas, retired) -- composer, educator, author

Joe Sears and Jaston Williams (the Tuna plays, et al.) -- actors, playwrights, directors

Michael Shelton and Shannon Sedwick (Esther's Follies) -- writers, performers, company co-founders

Judith Sims (Austin Museum of Art) -- administrator, curator, school founder

Jess Walters (deceased) -- singer, educator, opera director

Plaques permanently honoring each year's Hall of Fame inductees will hang in a prominent location to be announced.

The 2001-02 Austin Critics Table Awards ceremony will be begin at 7pm at the Capitol City Comedy Club, 8120 Research. In addition to the Hall of Fame honors, awards for achievements in theatre, dance, visual art, and classical music will be presented to artists at the free, informal ceremony. Nominations for this year's awards were published in the May 24 issue of the Chronicle.

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 36 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

More by Robert Faires
Moontower Comedy 2019: Final Headliners
Moontower Comedy 2019: Final Headliners
Nick Offerman, Hari Kandabolu lead third wave of comics

Feb. 15, 2019

The Vortex Repertory Company's <i>Heartland</i>
The Vortex Repertory Company's Heartland
Gabriel Jason Dean's new drama makes a sensitive study of three people in two different countries and where they belong

Feb. 8, 2019


Austin Arts Hall of Fame, Austin Critics Table Awards, Austin Critics Table, Capitol City Comedy Club, John Aielli, KUT-90.5 FM, Paul Beutel, Austin Theatre Alliance, Ruth Denney, University of Texas, Acia Gray, Tapestry Dance Company, Deborah Hay, Deborah Hay Dance C

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Updates for SXSW 2019

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle