Search

14 results, sorted by relevance | sort by date
Short Cuts
XL ent's "The 20 Greatest Car Movies of All Time" gets "Short Cuts" all in a tizzy, and an upcoming production from the Wilson brothers.
"...on 43rd and Guadalupe, where Employee of the Millennium Neal Chandler was downright apoplectic over the relegation of 1971..."

June 13, 2003 Screens Column by Marc Savlov

Postmarks
Our readers talk back.
"...Neal Chandler..."

June 27, 2003 Column

New Year, Old Films
Mid-20th-century must-sees: Part I
"...Howard Hawks' direction is crisp though supposedly even Raymond Chandler, who wrote the screenplay based on his novel, couldn't..."

Dec. 30, 2005 Screens Feature by Louis Black

That Old Revival Spirit
Testifying About Movies
"...D: Blake Edwards; with Audrey Hepburn, George Peppard, Patricia Neal, Buddy Ebsen, Martin Balsam, Mickey Rooney...."

June 13, 1997 Screens Feature

Making Lists
"...hard-boiled heroes are very much in the tradition of Chandler and Ross McDonald and Lindsey's evocations of Houston in..."

Jan. 1, 1999 Books Feature by Dick Holland

The Day the Earth Stood Still
This dull, unnecessary remake of the 1951 science-fiction classic features Keanu Reeves and Jennifer Connelly in a wooden cautionary tale.
"...Bates, Jaden Smith, John Cleese, Jon Hamm and Kyle Chandler. When word went out that this remake of Robert..."

Dec. 12, 2008 Movie Review by Marc Savlov

Texas Book Festival 2017: The Full List
Dan Rather, Jeffrey Eugenides, the Bush sisters, and 291 more
"...With Invisible Hand Paolo Bacigalupi – Tool of War Chandler Baker – This Is Not the End Katie Bayerl..."

Sept. 12, 2017 Arts Post by Robert Faires

Wizard of Aus ... tin
"...crossbow. Laurie Holden (Andrea), Sarah Wayne Callies (Lori Grimes), Chandler Riggs (Carl Grimes), Norman Reedus (post-apocalyptic sex symbol Daryl..."

Nov. 22, 2013 Screens Feature by Richard Whittaker

The Gray Band
How can a band singing almost exclusively about serial killers engender so much life?
"..."This is Neal Spelce and Red Rover on the University of Texas..."

Jan. 14, 2011 Music Feature by Raoul Hernandez

The Electric Church
In his debut novel, Jeff Somers attempts to create a 21st century cyberpunk novel
"...Neal Stephenson's 1992 Snow Crash marked the last significant cyberpunk..."

Oct. 5, 2007 Books Review by Rick Klaw

Rock & Roll Books
Gift guide
"...discussed to an extent approaching Philip Roth's or Tatum O'Neal's, depending on the discussion. Excluding the motorcycle accident –..."

Dec. 3, 2004 Music Feature by Shawn Badgley

Bibliomania
Books We Love and a Few Books We Don't
"...Cancer by Katherine Russell Rich 7. Interstate Dreams by Neal Barrett Jr. 8. Tomcat in Love by Tim O'Brien..."

Jan. 7, 2000 Books Feature

Further Reflections
SXSW Film Festival
"...Kenaston; Ed: Mark Juergens; with Nick Veronis, Catherine Kellner, Neal Jones, Patrick Fitzgerald, Jane Adams, Paul Gleason...."

March 21, 1997 Screens Feature

A Revolutionary Letter to Artists
Someone waved
"...artists are supported by the people (be they Raymond Chandler or Bruce Springsteen, Willa Cather, or Marilyn Monroe) something..."

Dec. 22, 1995 Column

NEWSLETTERS
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Updates for SXSW 2019

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle