The Austin Chronicle

SXSW 2017 Film Awards

March 17, 2017, Screens

Feature Jury Awards

Narrative Feature Competition

Grand Jury Winner: Most Beautiful Island (D: Ana Asensio)

Special Jury Recognition for Breakthrough Performance: James Freedson-Jackson, The Strange Ones

Special Jury Recognition for Best Ensemble: Matt Jones, Eleanore Pienta, Will Rogers, Jonny Mars, Sam Eidson, Jennymarie Jemison, A Bad Idea Gone Wrong

Documentary Feature Competition

Grand Jury Winner: The Work (D: Jairus McLeary, Gethin Aldous)

Special Jury Recognition for Excellence in Observational Cinema: Maineland (D: Miao Wang)

Special Jury Recognition for Excellence in Documentary Storytelling: I Am Another You (D: Nanfu Wang)

Short Film Grand Jury Awards

Narrative Shorts

Winner: "Forever Now" (D: Kristian Håskjold)

Special Jury Recognition for Acting: Tarra Riggs, "DeKalb Elementary"

Documentary Shorts

Winner: "Little Potato" (D: Wes Hurley, Nathan M. Miller)

Midnight Shorts

Winner: "The Suplex Duplex Complex" (D: Todd Rohal)

Animated Shorts

Winner: "Wednesday With Goddard" (D: Nicolas Ménard)

Special Jury Recognition: "Pussy" (D: Renata Gasiorowska)

Music Videos

Winner: Leon Bridges, "River" (D: Miles Jay)

Special Jury Recognition: Tame Impala, "The Less I Know the Better" (D: Canada)

Texas Shorts

Winner: "The Rabbit Hunt" (D: Patrick Bresnan)

Texas High School Shorts

Winner: "Better Late Than Never" (D: Atheena Frizzell)

Special Jury Recognition: "Darcy's Quinceañera" (D: Sam Cooper)

SXSW Film Design Awards

Excellence in Poster Design

Winner: "Fry Day" (Caspar Newbolt)

Special Jury Recognition: Like Me (Jeremy Enecio)

Excellence in Title Design

Winner: "Into the Current" (D: Chris R. Moberg, Jared Young)

SXSW Special Awards

SXSW Luna Gamechanger Award: Narrative

Winner: Inflame (D: Ceylan Özgün Özçelik)

SXSW Luna Chicken & Egg Award: Documentary

Winner: I Am Another You (D: Nanfu Wang)

Louis Black "Lone Star" Award

Winner: Mr. Roosevelt (D: Noël Wells)

SXSW Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award

Winner: Assholes (D: Peter Vack)

Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship

Presented to: Leigh Johnson

Copyright © 2024 Austin Chronicle Corporation. All rights reserved.