SXSW 2017 Film Awards

Most Beautiful Island

Feature Jury Awards

Narrative Feature Competition

Grand Jury Winner: Most Beautiful Island (D: Ana Asensio)

Special Jury Recognition for Breakthrough Performance: James Freedson-Jackson, The Strange Ones

Special Jury Recognition for Best Ensemble: Matt Jones, Eleanore Pienta, Will Rogers, Jonny Mars, Sam Eidson, Jennymarie Jemison, A Bad Idea Gone Wrong

Documentary Feature Competition

Grand Jury Winner: The Work (D: Jairus McLeary, Gethin Aldous)

Special Jury Recognition for Excellence in Observational Cinema: Maineland (D: Miao Wang)

Special Jury Recognition for Excellence in Documentary Storytelling: I Am Another You (D: Nanfu Wang)

"Forever Now"

Short Film Grand Jury Awards

Narrative Shorts

Winner: "Forever Now" (D: Kristian Håskjold)

Special Jury Recognition for Acting: Tarra Riggs, "DeKalb Elementary"

Documentary Shorts

Winner: "Little Potato" (D: Wes Hurley, Nathan M. Miller)

Midnight Shorts

Winner: "The Suplex Duplex Complex" (D: Todd Rohal)

Animated Shorts

Winner: "Wednesday With Goddard" (D: Nicolas Ménard)

Special Jury Recognition: "Pussy" (D: Renata Gasiorowska)

The Work

Music Videos

Winner: Leon Bridges, "River" (D: Miles Jay)

Special Jury Recognition: Tame Impala, "The Less I Know the Better" (D: Canada)

Texas Shorts

Winner: "The Rabbit Hunt" (D: Patrick Bresnan)

Texas High School Shorts

Winner: "Better Late Than Never" (D: Atheena Frizzell)

Special Jury Recognition: "Darcy's Quinceañera" (D: Sam Cooper)

Leon Bridges, "River"

SXSW Film Design Awards

Excellence in Poster Design

Winner: "Fry Day" (Caspar Newbolt)

Special Jury Recognition: Like Me (Jeremy Enecio)

Excellence in Title Design

Winner: "Into the Current" (D: Chris R. Moberg, Jared Young)

"Wednesday With Goddard"

SXSW Special Awards

SXSW Luna Gamechanger Award: Narrative

Winner: Inflame (D: Ceylan Özgün Özçelik)

SXSW Luna Chicken & Egg Award: Documentary

Winner: I Am Another You (D: Nanfu Wang)

Louis Black "Lone Star" Award

Winner: Mr. Roosevelt (D: Noël Wells)

SXSW Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award

Winner: Assholes (D: Peter Vack)

Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship

Presented to: Leigh Johnson

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

Unleashing the <i>Hounds of Love</i>
Unleashing the Hounds of Love
Director Ben Young on his serial-killer couple drama

Richard Whittaker, May 12, 2017

Ben Wheatley  Catches <i>Free Fire</i>
Ben Wheatley Catches Free Fire
Director on making his U.S. action debut

Richard Whittaker, April 21, 2017


SXSW, SXSW Film 2017, SXSW 2017, Most Beautiful Island, Ana Asensio, The Strange Ones, James Freedson-Jackson, A Bad Idea Gone Wrong, Matt Jones, Eleanore Pienta, Will Rogers, Jonny Mars, Sam Eidson, Jennymarie Jemison, The Work, Jairus McLeary, Gethin Aldous, Maineland, Miao Wang, I Am Another You

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle