The Austin Chronicle

SXSW 2014 Film Awards

March 14, 2014, Screens

Narrative Feature

Grand Jury Winner:
Fort Tilden (D: Sarah-Violet Bliss & Charles Rogers)

Special Jury Recognition for Courage in Storytelling:
Animals (Actor & Screenwriter: David Dastmalchian)

Special Jury Recognition for Best Acting Duo:
10,000KM (Long Distance) (Natalie Tena & David Verdaguer)

Documentary Feature

Grand Jury Winner:
The Great Invisible (D: Margaret Brown)

Special Jury Recognition for Political Courage:
Vessel (D: Diana Whitten)

Special Jury Recognition for Editing & Storytelling:
Print the Legend (D: Luis Lopez & Clay Tweel)


Narrative Shorts: Winner:
"Quelqu'un d'extraordinaire" (D: Monia Chokri)

Special Jury Recognition:
"Person to Person" (D: Dustin Guy Defa)

Special Jury Recognition for Cinematography:
"Krisha" (D: Trey Edward Shults)

Documentary Shorts:
"Kehinde Wiley: An Economy of Grace" (D: Jeff Dupre)

Midnight Shorts:
"Wawd Ahp" (D: Steve Girard & Josh Chertoff)

Animated Shorts: Winner:
"Coda" (D: Alan Holly)

Special Jury Recognition:
"Eager" (D: Allison Schulnik)

Music Videos:
Joel Compass, "Back to Me" (D: Ian & Cooper)

Texas Shorts:
"Some vacation." (D: Anne S. Lewis)

Texas High School Shorts:
"Seawolf" (D: Caila Pickett & Max Montoya)

Excellence in Poster Design

Starry Eyes (Jay Shaw)

Excellence in Title Design

True Detective (Patrick Clair for Elastic)

Special Jury Recognition:
The Lego Movie (Brian Mah for Alma Mater)

SXSW Gamechanger Award

Winner: Jen McGowan (Kelly & Cal)

Special Mention: Kat Candler (Hellion)

Louis Black 'Lone Star' Award

Winner: Boyhood (D: Richard Linklater)

Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship

Presented to: Colin Nusbaum

Correction: SXSW emailed Wednesday, March 12, to correct the name of Jen McGowan's award and the name of Brian Mah's company. Both have been updated in this version of the story.

Copyright © 2017 Austin Chronicle Corporation. All rights reserved.