SXSW 2012 Film Awards

Audience and jury prizes announced

<b><i>Gimme the Loot</i></b>
Gimme the Loot

Jury Awards

Documentary feature

Grand Jury Winner: Beware of Mr. Baker (D: Jay Bulger)

Narrative Feature

Grand Jury Winner: Gimme the Loot (D: Adam Leon)

Special Jury Recognition for Performance: Jamie Chung (Eden); Besedka Johnson (Starlet); Nico Stone (Booster)

Audience Awards

Documentary feature


Bay of All Saints (D: Annie Eastman)

Narrative Feature

Eden (D: Megan Griffiths)

Short Film Jury Awards

NARRATIVE SHORTS: "The Chair" (D: Grainger David)


MIDNIGHT SHORTS: "Don't Hug Me I'm Scared" (D: Rebecca Sloan & Joseph Pelling)


SXGLOBAL SHORTS: "The Perfect Fit" (D: Tali Yankelevich)

ANIMATED SHORTS: "(notes on) biology" (D: Danny Madden)

MUSIC VIDEOS: Battles, "My Machines" (D: Daniels)

TEXAS SHORTS: "Spark" (D: Annie Silverstein)

TEXAS HIGH SCHOOL SHORTS: "Boom" (D: Daniel Matyas & Brian Broder)

SXSW Film Design Awards

Excellence in Poster Design

The Black Balloon
"The Black Balloon"

Winner: "Man & Gun" (Designer: Justin Cox)

Special Jury Recognition: "Pitch Black Heist" (Designer: Andrew Cranston)

Audience Award Winner: "The Maker" (Designer: Christopher Kezelos)

Excellence in Title Design

Winner: Les Bleus de Ramville (Designer: Jay Bond, Oily Film Company Inc.)

Special Jury Recognition: X-Men: First Class (Designer: Simon Clowes, Prologue Films)


Audience Award Winner: Bunraku (Designer: Guilherme Marcondes, Hornet Inc.)

SXSW Special Awards

SXSW Wholpin Award

"The Black Balloon" (D: Benny Safdie & Josh Safdie)

SXSW Chicken & Egg Emergent Narrative Woman Director Award

Megan Griffiths for Eden; Amy Seimetz for Sun Don't Shine

Louis Black 'Lone Star' Award

Bernie (D: Richard Linklater)

Special Jury Recognition: Trash Dance (D: Andrew Garrison)

Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship

Lindsay Utz

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

SXSW Film Releases Full Feature Lineup
SXSW Film Releases Full Feature Lineup
Slate includes everyone from Wes Anderson to the Zellners

Monica Riese, Jan. 30, 2014

Mindy Kaling Comes to SXSW
Mindy Kaling Comes to SXSW
The comedian and showrunner will speak March 9

Monica Riese, Jan. 21, 2014

More Screens
Austin Artist Brings Gamera to Vibrant Life in a New Box Set
Austin Artist Brings Gamera to Vibrant Life in a New Box Set
Matt Frank builds the perfect monster

Richard Whittaker, Aug. 28, 2020

SXSW Film Reviews: 'Lunarcy!'
Daily Reviews and Interviews

Wayne Alan Brenner, March 15, 2013


SXSW Film, SXSW 2012 Film Awards, Beware of Mr. Baker, Gimme the Loot, Jamie Chung, Besedka Johnson, Nico Stone, Bay of All Saints, Eden, Megan Griffiths, Justin Cox, Andrew Cranston, Christopher Kezelos, Guilherme Marcondes, Simon Clowes, Jay Bond, Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie, Amy Seimetz, Sun Don't Shine

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Behind the scenes at The Austin Chronicle

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle