Austin Film Critics Association Announces Awards

'Hugo' wins Best Picture

Austin Film Critics Association Announces Awards

Best Film: Hugo

Best Director: Nicolas Winding Refn, Drive

Best Actor: Michael Shannon, Take Shelter

Best Actress: Tilda Swinton, We Need To Talk About Kevin

Best Supporting Actor: Albert Brooks, Drive

Best Supporting Actress: Jessica Chastain, Take Shelter

Best Original Screenplay: Woody Allen, Midnight in Paris

Best Adapted Screenplay: Hossein Amini, Drive

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, The Tree of Life

Best Original Score: Steven Price, Attack the Block

Best Foreign Language Film: I Saw the Devil (D: Kim Jee-woon, South Korea)

Best Documentary: Senna (D: Asif Kapadia)

Best Animated Feature: Rango (D: Gore Verbinski)

Robert R. "Bobby" McCurdy Memorial Breakthrough Artist Award: Jessica Chastain for her work in Take Shelter, The Tree of Life, The Help, The Debt, Coriolanus, and Texas Killing Fields

Best First Film: Attack the Block (D: Joe Cornish)

Austin Film Award: Take Shelter (D: Jeff Nichols)

Top 10 Films:

1) Hugo

2) Drive

3) Take Shelter

4) Midnight in Paris

5) Attack the Block

6) The Artist

7) Martha Marcy May Marlene

8) I Saw the Devil

9) 13 Assassins

10) Melancholia

The membership of the Austin Film Critics Association includes Marjorie Baumgarten (The Austin Chronicle), Jenn Brown (Slackerwood), Dave Campbell (Smells Like Screen Spirit), C. Robert "Massawyrm" Cargill (, Ain't It Cool News), Laurie Coker (Hill Country News), Korey Coleman (Spill), Chris Cox (Spill), Cole Dabney (Insite magazine), Victor Diaz (YNN Austin), Charles Ealy (Austin American-Statesman), John Gholson (, William Goss (MSN Movies,, Orlando Weekly), Peter S. Hall (, Horror's Not Dead, and, Kimberley Jones (The Austin Chronicle), Jette Kernion (Slackerwood), Harry Knowles (Ain't It Cool News), Neil Miller (Film School Rejects), Brian Salisbury (Fandango,,, Horror's Not Dead), Marc Savlov (The Austin Chronicle), Robert Sims (KOOP 91.7FM), Martin Thomas (Spill), Eric "Quint" Vespe (Ain't It Cool News), Scott Weinberg (Twitch, Fearnet, Fandango), and Chase Whale ( For more info, visit

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for almost 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

More Austin Film Critics Association
Split Decision for Austin Film Critics Association
Split Decision for Austin Film Critics Association
Get Out, The Shape of Water top local critic awards

Richard Whittaker, Jan. 12, 2018

Austin Film Critics Association Award Winners
Austin Film Critics Association Award Winners
The AFCA laud acclaimed drama and local filmmaker Keith Maitland

Marjorie Baumgarten, Dec. 30, 2016

More Screens Reviews
SXSW Film Reviews: 'Lunarcy!'
Daily Reviews and Interviews

Wayne Alan Brenner, March 15, 2013

SXSW Film Reviews: 'The Punk Syndrome'
Daily Reviews and Interviews

Patrick Courtney, March 15, 2013


Austin Film Critics Association, AFCA

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Updates for SXSW 2019

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle