Backing 'Black'

The Austin Film Critics Association announces 2010 awards

Clockwise from left: <i>Black Swan</i>, <i>True Grit</i>, <i>Winnebago Man</i>, and <i>Monsters</i>
Clockwise from left: Black Swan, True Grit, Winnebago Man, and Monsters

The Austin Film Critics Association announced its top picks of the year yesterday, with Darren Aronofsky's psychosexual drama Black Swan taking Best Film and an additional four prizes, including a Best Actress win for Natalie Portman. The actress has swept virtually every critics' group awards out there for her turn as a deranged prima ballerina; indeed, her AFCA Best Actress decision was one of only two categories that didn't require a second ballot (Aaron Sorkin's win for Best Adapted Screenplay was the other early lock). The organization also singled out the locally filmed TV show Friday Night Lights for a special award honoring its five years of awesomely good, criminally underrated drama (well, in so many words).

The AFCA, a 20-member group culled from Central Texas TV, print, and online organizations, also renamed one of its categories the Robert R. McCurdy Honorary Breakthrough Artist Award in honor of founding member Bobby McCurdy, who died suddenly last week. His family and friends will establish a scholarship in his name that will sponsor high school seniors taking educational trips to Europe before college; see in coming weeks for details.

Best Film: Black Swan

Best Director: Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan

Best Actor: Colin Firth, The King's Speech

Best Actress: Natalie Portman, Black Swan

Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale, The Fighter

Best Supporting Actress: Hailee Steinfeld, True Grit

Best Original Screenplay: Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz, and John McLaughlin; Black Swan

Best Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network

Best Cinematography: Matthew Libatique, Black Swan

Best Original Score: Daft Punk, Tron: Legacy

Best Foreign Language Film: A Prophet (Un Prophète), France

Best Documentary Film: Exit Through the Gift Shop

Best Animated Feature: Toy Story 3

Robert R. McCurdy Honorary Breakthrough Artist Award: Chloë Grace Moretz, Kick-Ass and Let Me In

Best First Film: Gareth Edwards, Monsters

Best Austin Film: Ben Steinbauer, Winnebago Man

Special Honorary Award: Friday Night Lights, for producing excellent, locally made television in Austin for the past five years

Top 10 Films:

1) Black Swan

2) The Social Network

3) Inception

4) Toy Story 3

5) The King's Speech

6) True Grit

7) The Fighter

8) A Prophet (Un Prophète)

9) Winter's Bone

10) Scott Pilgrim vs. the World

The membership of the Austin Film Critics Association includes Marjorie Baumgarten (The Austin Chronicle), Jenn Brown (Slackerwood), Dave Campbell (Smells Like Screen Spirit), C. Robert Cargill (, Laurie Coker (Hill Country News), Korey Coleman (Spill), Chris Cox (Spill), Cole Dabney (INsite Magazine), Victor Diaz (News 8 Austin), Charles Ealy (Austin American-Statesman), Peter S. Hall (Horror's Not Dead, Cinematical, and Horror Squad), Kimberley Jones (The Austin Chronicle), Jette Kernion (Cinematical), Harry Knowles (Ain't It Cool News), Bobby McCurdy (INsite Magazine), Neil Miller (Film School Rejects), Marc Savlov (The Austin Chronicle), Martin Thomas (Spill), Eric Vespe (Ain't It Cool News), and Chase Whale ( For more info, visit

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

More Austin Film Critics Association
Austin Critics Announce the Five Best Austin Films of 2022
Austin Critics Announce the Five Best Austin Films of 2022
Linklater and mountain lions, the pandemic, the legacy of slavery, and the fight for abortion rights all part of this year’s AFCA Austin Film Award short list

Richard Whittaker, Jan. 6, 2023

Split Decision for Austin Film Critics Association
Split Decision for Austin Film Critics Association
Get Out, The Shape of Water top local critic awards

Richard Whittaker, Jan. 12, 2018

More Screens
Austin Artist Brings Gamera to Vibrant Life in a New Box Set
Austin Artist Brings Gamera to Vibrant Life in a New Box Set
Matt Frank builds the perfect monster

Richard Whittaker, Aug. 28, 2020

SXSW Film Reviews: 'Lunarcy!'
Daily Reviews and Interviews

Wayne Alan Brenner, March 15, 2013

More by Kimberley Jones
Election Day, STEM Day, Amplify Austin Day, and More Days to Remember This Week
Election Day, STEM Day, Amplify Austin Day, and More Days to Remember This Week
Our guide to community events for the week

March 1, 2024

Opera Fights, Puppet Plays, and More Arty Events
Opera Fights, Puppet Plays, and More Arty Events
Get an arts fix this week

March 1, 2024


Austin Film Critics Association, AFCA, Black Swan, Darren Aronofsky, Natalie Portman, Friday Night Lights, Robert R. McCurdy, Bobby McCurdy, Chloë Grace Moretz, Chloe Grace Moretz, Colin Firth, Christian Bale, Hailee Steinfeld, Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network, Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz, John McLaughlin, Matthew Libatique, Daft Punk

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle