SXSW 2010 Film Awards

Audience, jury, and special awards



Documentary Feature

Winner: Marwencol (D: Jeff Malmberg)

Runner-up: War Don Don (D: Rebecca Richman Cohen)

Narrative Feature

Winner: Tiny Furniture (D: Lena Durham)

Special Jury Award for Best Ensemble: The Myth of the American Sleepover

Special Jury Award for Best Individual Performance: Brian Hasenfus in Phillip the Fossil

Narrative Shorts

Winner: "Cigarette Candy" (D: Lauren Wolkstein)

Runner-up: "Teleglobal Dreamin'" (D: Eric Flanagan)

Documentary Shorts

Winner: "Quadrangle" (D: Amy Grappell)

Runner-up: "White Lines and the Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug" (D: Travis Senger)

Animated Shorts

The Orange
"The Orange"

Winner: "The Orange" (D: Nick Fox-Gieg)

Runner-up: "One Square Mile of Earth" (D: Jeff Drew)

Experimental Shorts

Winner: "Night Mayor" (D: Guy Maddin)

Runner-up: "Kids Might Fly" (D: Alex Taylor)

Music Videos

Winner: Cinnamon Chasers, "Luv Deluxe" (D: Saman Keshavarz)

Runner-up: Grizzly Baer, "Forest" (D: Allison Schulnik)

Texas Shorts

Winner: "Petting Sharks" (D: Craig Elrod)

Runner-up: "The Big Bends" (D: Jason William Marlow)

Time Warner Cable & Ovation Young Filmmaker Scholarship for Texas High School Short

Winner: "Give the Dog a Bone" (D: Edward Kelley)

Runner-up: "The Sleep Project" (D: Whitney Bennett & Mathew Cunningham)

<i>For Once in My Life</i>
For Once in My Life


Documentary Feature

Winner: For Once in My Life (D: Jim Bigham & Mark Moormann)

Narrative Feature

Winner: Brotherhood (D: Will Cannon)


Excellence in Poster Design

Winner: " Feeder" (Designer: Joseph Ernst)

Runner-up: Amer (Designer: Gilles Vranckx)

Audience Award Winner: Richard Garriott: Man on a Mission (Designer: Michael Anderson)

Special Jury Award: Equestrian Sexual Response (Designers: Martim Vian & Zeke Hawkins)

Excellence in Title Design

Winner: Zombieland (Designer: Ben Conrad)

Runner-up: earthwork (Designer: Stan Herd)

Audience Award Winner: earthwork (Designer: Stan Herd)

Special Jury Award: Enter the Void (Desingers: Gaspar Noé & Tom Kam)


SXSW Wholphin Award

Winner: "Quadrangle" (D: Amy Grappell)

SXSW Chicken & Egg Emergent Narrative Woman Director Award

<i>Tiny Furniture</i>
Tiny Furniture

Winner: Lena Durham for Tiny Furniture

Special Award – The Chicken & Egg Pictures "We Believe in You" Award: Martha Stephens for Passenger Pigeons

Keep up with all our SXSW coverage at For scheduling on the go, here's a SXSW Film Pocket Guide, which includes the handy Film Grid. Sign up for our South-by-specific newsletter at for news, reviews, and previews delivered to your inbox every day of the Fest. And for the latest Tweets, follow @ChronSXSW.

AC Daily, Events and Promotions, Luvdoc Answers

Breaking news, recommended events, and more

Official Chronicle events, promotions, and giveaways

Updates for SXSW 2017

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)