The Controllers (For Now)

Any and all of these companies – some big, some small, some downright tiny – are worth a look, and many are producing games you've probably heard of

With some 30-odd companies now crowding Austin's gaming community, it was impossible to cover all of them, but we'd be remiss if we didn't steer interested readers in the right direction, thus "the List," which has been culled from the Austin Game Developers site (www.agd.cc) and other sources.

Any and all of these companies – some big, some small, some downright tiny – are worth a look, and many are producing games you've probably heard of. One caveat: With the inbred fluctuations (read: mergers and acquisitions) inherent to the gaming scene, it's entirely possible that one or more of the companies listed below have already moved on or changed their name. As the article went to press, for example, Warthog: Texas, the SoCo-based offshoot of Warthog UK led by former Digital Anvil co-founder Eric Peterson, was purchased by UK outfit Gizmondo (www.gizmondo.com) – Warthog's future, as of last weekend, is now up in the air, as is their long-anticipated game Johnny Whatever. Anyway, you get our point.

Aggressive Game Designs (www.aggressivegames.com)

Aspyr Media Inc. (www.aspyr.com)

Atomic Games (www.atomic.com)

Austin Game Conference (www.gameconference.com)

Crainiac Entertainment (www.craniac.com)

Critical Mass Interactive (www.criticalmassinteractive.com)

Digital Anvil (http://games.ign.com/objects/026/026806.html?ui=GameDetailBox)

Dragon's Eye Productions (www.furcadia.com)

DragonLore (www.dragonlore.com)

Edge of Reality (www.edgeofreality.com)

Game Titan (www.gametitan.com)

Gathering Austin (www.gathering.com)

Gizmondo (www.gizmondo.com)

Glass Eye Entertainment (www.glasseye.net)

George "The Fat Man" Sanger (www.fatman.com)

Inevitable Entertainment Inc. (www.inevitable.com)

Ion Storm (www.ionstorm.com)

Knockabout Games Inc. (www.knockaboutgames.com)

Midnight Studios (www.midnight-studios.net)

NCsoft Austin (www.plaync.com)

Ninjaneering (www.ninjaneering.com)

Online Alchemy (www.onlinealchemy.com)

Origin/Ultima Online (www.uo.com)

Palestar (www.palestar.com)

RadioActive Labs (www.radioactivelabs.com)

Retro Studios (www.retrostudios.com)

Roxor Games Inc. (www.roxorgames.com)

Sony Online Entertainment Austin (www.sonyonline.com)

Super Happy Fun Fun Inc. (www.superhappyfunfun.com)

SurvivorSoft (www.survivorsoft.com)

The Fizz Factor Game Studio (www.fizzfactorgames.com)

Third Wire Productions (www.thirdwire.com)

Warthog: Texas (www.warthogtx.com)

Westlake Interactive (www.westlakeinteractive.com)

Wolfpack Studios Inc./Ubisoft (www.shadowbane.com/us)

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for almost 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

READ MORE
More Screens
Arcade Fire
Arcade Fire
Pastime becomes passion project becomes Pinballz

Richard Whittaker, April 6, 2012

In Play
In Play
Thatgamecompany puts out another experimental release that dazzles the eyes and the mind

James Renovitch, March 30, 2012

More by Marc Savlov
Possessor Uncut
Identity melts in this psychotropic assassination brainblender

Oct. 2, 2020

Shortcut
Mangled Italian creature feature should be even shorter

Sept. 25, 2020

KEYWORDS FOR THIS STORY

Austin game developers

MORE IN THE ARCHIVES
NEWSLETTERS
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

New recipes and food news delivered Mondays

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle