Starry Night

Texas Film Hall of Fame inductees announced

The Austin Film Society announced on Wednesday the Texas Film Hall of Fame Awards honorees, who will be recognized at Austin Studios on March 12 – the opening night of South by Southwest Film – for their contributions to Lone Star cinema.

Texas Natives

Judith Ivey
Dennis Quaid
Bud Shrake
Forest Whitaker

Honorary Texan

Robert Duvall

Frontier Award

Ali MacGraw accepting for The Getaway

More SXSW Film News: Kevin Smith will bring his Jersey Girl to SXSW for a very special screening, while writer-director-producer Gary Ross (Seabiscuit, Pleasantville) will also be in town come festival time.

Many more surprises are on the way, but in the meantime, see for event and registration info.

More Texas Film Hall of Fame
Remembering the Classics
Remembering the Classics
Texas Film Hall of Famer Michael Barker reflects on Austin's film scene

Richard Whittaker, March 4, 2016

Texas Stars Twinkle on the Small Screen
Texas Stars Twinkle on the Small Screen
Television used to be where actors were put out to pasture; for these Texas Film Hall of Fame honorees, it's tall cotton

Melanie Haupt, March 1, 2013

More Screens Reviews
SXSW Film Reviews: 'TPB AFK: The Pirate Bay Away From Keyboard'
Daily Reviews and Interviews

Richard Whittaker, March 15, 2013

SXSW Film Reviews: 'We Cause Scenes'
Daily Reviews and Interviews

Wayne Alan Brenner, March 15, 2013


Texas Film Hall of Fame, Austin Film Society, Texas Film Hall of Fame Awards, Judith Ivey, Dennis Quaid, Bud Shrake, Forest Whitaker, Robert Duvall, Ali MacGraw, South by Southwest, Kevin Smith, Gary Ross

AC Daily, Events and Promotions, Luvdoc Answers

Breaking news, recommended events, and more

Official Chronicle events, promotions, and giveaways

Updates for SXSW 2017

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)