All Endorsements

Collected on one page

All Endorsements

Read why we’re endorsing these candidates. And don't forget – you can't use your cell phone in the voting booth, so print this page ahead of time or pick up the latest issue of the The Austin Chronicle on newsstands now

City of Austin

Austin City Council

District 2: Delia Garza

District 4: Greg Casar

District 6: Jimmy Flannigan

District 7: Leslie Pool

District 10: Alison Alter

Prop. 1 Mobility Bond: Yes

Austin Independent School District Board of Trustees

District 2: Jayme Mathias

At-Large Position 8: Cindy Anderson

District 3: Ann Teich

District 5: Amber Elenz

District 7: Yasmin Wagner

Austin Community College Board of Trustees

Place 4: Sean Hassan

Place 5: Anthony Schoggins

Place 6: Nora de Hoyos Comstock

Place 9: Julie Ann Nitsch

Travis County

District Attorney: Margaret Moore

Sheriff: Sally Hernandez

Commissioner, Precinct 3: David Holmes

County Tax Assessor-Collector: Bruce Elfant

County Commissioner, Precinct 1: Jeff Travillion

Constable, Precinct 2: Adan Ballesteros

State of Texas


State Senator, District 21: Judith Zaffirini

State Senator, District 24: Virginia "Jennie Lou" Leeder

House of Representatives

State Representative, District 46: Dawnna Dukes

State Representative, District 47: Ana Jordan

State Representative, District 48: Donna Howard

State Representative, District 49: Gina Hinojosa

State Representative, District 50: Celia Israel

State Representative, District 51: Eddie Rodriguez

State Board of Education

Member, SBOE, District 5: Rebecca Bell-Metereau

Member, SBOE, District 10: Judy Jennings

Railroad Commissioner

No Endorsement

Other Contested Races

Texas Supreme Court, Place 3: Mike Westergren

Texas Supreme Court, Place 5: Dori Contreras Garza

Texas Supreme Court, Place 9: Savannah Robinson

Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2: Lawrence Meyers

Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5: Betsy Johnson

Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6: Robert Burns


President: Hillary Clinton

U.S. Representative, District 10: Tawana W. Cadien

U.S. Representative, District 17: William Matta

U.S. Representative, District 21: Tom Wakely

U.S. Representative, District 25: Kathi Thomas

U.S. Representative, District 35: Lloyd Doggett

Got something to say? The Chronicle welcomes opinion pieces on any topic from the community. Submit yours now at

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle