Boards & Commissions

Here’s a list of 122 board and commission appointments made by City Council at the end of July, listing the board or commission, the newly appointed member, and the nominating City Council member.

2006 Bond Oversight Committee
Moses GarciaBill Spelman
African American Resource Advisory Commission
Dr. Chiquita EugeneMike Martinez
Nelson LinderLee Leffingwell
Candice WadeSheryl Cole
Jennifer WilksBill Spelman
Animal Advisory Commission
Dr. Ellen JeffersonLee Leffingwell
David LundstedtMike Martinez
Arts Commission
Gloria Mata PenningtonMike Martinez
Bruce WillenzikLee Leffingwell
Asian American Resource Advisory Commission
Schiller LiaoBill Spelman
Austin Airport Advisory Commission
Steven HartMike Martinez
Richard HatfieldLee Leffingwell
Carolyn LoweBill Spelman
Austin Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission
Randy KolbLee Leffingwell
Wendell RamseyBill Spelman
Kedron TouvellMike Martinez
Melvin WhiteSheryl Cole
Austin Mayor’s Committee for People With Disabilities
Kathy KasprisinMike Martinez
Ron LuceySheryl Cole
Austin Music Commission
Rich GarzaMike Martinez
Randy HoustonChris Riley
Duane Ter’ell HunterSheryl Cole
Paul OveisiBill Spelman
Board of Adjustment
Clarke HammondLee Leffingwell
Jeff JackLaura Morrison
Nora SalinasMike Martinez
Building and Fire Code Board of Appeals
Alan SchumannSheryl Cole
James SullivanMike Martinez
Building and Standards Commission
Dr. Ethelynn BeebeBill Spelman
Stacy KaplowitzSheryl Cole
Commission for Women
Marilyn BostickSheryl Cole
Angela Howard FrederickLee Leffingwell
Laurie Felker JonesBill Spelman
Linda MedinaMike Martinez
Commission on Immigrant Affairs
Thomas Esparza Jr.Mike Martinez
Laura HernandezBill Spelman
Community Development Commission
Bo McCarverLee Leffingwell
Elridge NelsonSheryl Cole
Karen PaupChris Riley
Construction Advisory Commission
Ira CroffordLee Leffingwell
Calvin WilliamsSheryl Cole
Design Commission
Juan Cotera Sr.Mike Martinez
David KnollBill Spelman
Eleanor McKinneyLee Leffingwell
Richard WeissChris Riley
Jeannie WigintonSheryl Cole
Downtown Austin Community Court Advisory Committee
Marshall JonesChris Riley
Lori RenteriaSheryl Cole
Downtown Commission
Robert KnightMike Martinez
Joel SherSheryl Cole
Early Childhood Council
Jon Kyle HolderMike Martinez
Avis Jones WallaceSheryl Cole
Electric Board
Robert SchmidtMike Martinez
Randy WaldenLee Leffingwell
Ronny WilliamsSheryl Cole
Electric Utility Commission
Shudde FathLee Leffingwell
Phillip SchmandtChris Riley
Stephen SmahaSheryl Cole
Michael WebberBill Spelman
Environmental Board
Rodney AhartSheryl Cole
John DupnikBill Spelman
Phil MoncadaMike Martinez
Mary Ann NeelyLee Leffingwell
Ethics Review Commission
James “Jim” HensonMike Martinez
Historic Landmark Commission
Joe ArriagaSheryl Cole
John RosatoMike Martinez
Human Rights Commission
Jay ChungLee Leffingwell
Dewayne LoftonSheryl Cole
Delia MeyerMike Martinez
Impact Fee Advisory Committee
Daniel BudaMike Martinez
Richard KallermanBill Spelman
Library Commission
Carolyn GoldstonSheryl Cole
Carol MartinLee Leffingwell
Gloria MerazBill Spelman
Benito OrnelasMike Martinez
MBE/WBE and Small Business Procurement Program Advisory Commission
Anne HarutunianBill Spelman
Ed LowenbergMike Martinez
Brian WaltersSheryl Cole
Mechanical, Plumbing and Solar Board
Thomas CombsSheryl Cole
Stephen CoxMike Martinez
Jerry GarzaLee Leffingwell
Mexican American Cultural Center Advisory Board
Martha CoteraBill Spelman
Sylvia OrozcoMike Martinez
Juan OyervidesLee Leffingwell
Maria RamirezSheryl Cole
Parks and Recreation Board
Hill AbellChris Riley
Linda GuerreroMike Martinez
Planning Commission
Danette ChimentiBill Spelman
Jay ReddyChris Riley
Dave SullivanRandi Shade
Kathryne TovoLaura Morrison
Public Safety Commission
Dr. Michael LauderdaleSheryl Cole
Michael LevyRandi Shade
Renaissance Market Commission
Arron BrooksSheryl Cole
Laura WidsomLee Leffingwell
Residential Design and Compatibility Commission
Keith L. JacksonSheryl Cole
Chuck MainsLee Leffingwell
Resource Management Commission
Grace HsiehLee Leffingwell
Robert Mueller Municipal Airport Plan Implementation Advisory Commission
Ashley FisherBill Spelman
Michael JonesSheryl Cole
Rick KrivoniakLee Leffingwell
Solid Waste Advisory Commission
Gerard AcunaMike Martinez
Rick CoferLee Leffingwell
Sustainable Food Policy Board
Melanie McAfeeLee Leffingwell
Ronda RutledgeMike Martinez
Ellen SweetsSheryl Cole
Travis County Healthcare District Board of Managers
Katrina DanielCouncil
Urban Forestry Board
Keith BabberneyLee Leffingwell
Nicholas ClassenSheryl Cole
Ryan FlemingMike Martinez
Peggy MaceoRandi Shade
Urban Transportation Commission
Allen DemlingLee Leffingwell
Sara KrauseChris Riley
Dustin LanierSheryl Cole
Dana LocklerMike Martinez
Water and Wastewater Commission
Dale GrayMike Martinez
Chien LeeLee Leffingwell
Gwen WebbSheryl Cole
Waterfront Planning Advisory Council
Mary ArnoldLaura Morrison
Zoning and Platting Commission
Sandy BaldridgeLee Leffingwell
Cynthia BanksSheryl Cole
Long Center Board of Trustees
Randy HoustonCouncil

Source: City of Austin website

Got something to say? The Chronicle welcomes opinion pieces on any topic from the community. Submit yours now at

  • More of the Story

  • Wheels Within Wheels

    Council's boards and commissions appointments are always good conversation fodder

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Behind the scenes at The Austin Chronicle

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle