Ronnie Earle: Prosecutions of Elected Officials

Ronnie Earle: Prosecutions of Elected Officials
Photo by John Anderson

1978: Supreme Court Justice Don Yarbrough (Dem): forgery, aggravated perjury, and failure to appear.

1979: Travis Co. Commissioner Bob Honts (Dem): official misconduct and bribery. Pled to a misdemeanor, misapplying county property, in 1984. Ordered to pay a $2,000 fine.

1980: Sen. Gene Jones (Dem): used state computer to prepare campaign mailings. Pled guilty to misdemeanor charge of official misconduct. Paid $10,000 restitution and a $2,000 fine.

1981: Rep. Mike Martin (Rep): pled to a misdemeanor charge of perjury, 1982. Resigned from office and race and paid a $2,000 fine.

1981: Treasurer Warren G. Harding (Dem): pled to class A misdemeanor, official misconduct. Received one year deferred adjudication. Paid $2,000 restitution and a $2,000 fine.

1983: Ronald Earle (Dem): Earle failed to file a campaign finance report on time. He charged himself with the misdemeanor offense and paid the $200 fine.

1983: House Speaker Gib Lewis (Dem): pled to class B misdemeanor, failure to file financial statement. Paid $800 fine.

1983: Attorney General Jim Mattox (Dem): found not guilty of commercial bribery.

1983: San Antonio Voter Registrar Marco Gomez (Dem): pled guilty to charges of securing execution of document by deception and tampering with a governmental record. Received 10 years probation, 90 days Travis Co. Jail. Paid $49,994 restitution and a $2,000 fine.

1983: Rep. Charles Staniswallis (Rep): pled guilty to charges of theft and tampering with a governmental record. Received 10 years probation. Paid $8,976 restitution and a $2,000 fine.

1992: Gib Lewis (Dem): pled guilty to two counts of filing false financial statements. Paid $1,000 fine on each count.

1994: U.S. Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (Rep): indicted for tampering with physical evidence, tampering with a governmental record, and official misconduct. Following evidentiary hearing, state moved to dismiss charges; court refused to grant dismissal. State (Earle) declined to present evidence; court directed verdict of not guilty.

1995: Rep. Betty Denton (Dem): pled to misdemeanor charges of perjury. Received six months deferred adjudication. Paid $2,000 fine.

1995: Lane Denton (Dem), executive director of the Department of Public Safety Officers' Assoc­i­a­tion: found guilty of second degree (felony) theft and misapplication of fiduciary property. Ordered to pay $67,201 in restitution, $12,000 fine. Received 10 years probation, 60 days jail, and 240 hours community service.

2000: Rep. Gilbert Serna (Dem): pled to multiple charges of theft by public servant. Placed on probation for 10 years and ordered to serve 90 days in jail and pay restitution of more than $13,000 and a $3,000 fine.

2005: U.S. Rep. Tom DeLay (Rep): pending; see "Indictments Pending."

2007: 365th District Court Judge (Eagle Pass) Amado Abascal: pled to misdemeanor tampering with government record. Ordered to pay $14,000 in administrative penalty and a $4,000 fine.

Got something to say on the subject? Send a letter to the editor.

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle