2005 City of Austin Election

Saturday, May 7

Early voting runs Wednesday, April 20 - Tuesday, May 3

City Council

Place 1

Andrew Bucknall

Lee Leffingwell

James Paine

Casey Walker

Scott Williams

Steven Adams(write-in)

Place 3

Margot Clarke

Mandy Dealey

Jennifer Kim

Gregg Knaupe

Place 4

Wes Benedict

Betty Dunkerley

Jennifer Gale

Phillip Byron Miller

John Wickham

Proposed Smoking Ordinance

"An ordinance repealing Austin's current ordinance relating to smoking in public places and replacing it with a new ordinance that maintains the current prohibition against smoking in most public places, including workplaces, and expands the prohibition against smoking to apply to all bars, restaurants, bowling alleys, and billiard parlors, except for restaurants with restricted permits that are renewable through September 1, 2012."

ACC Annexation Proposition

"Annexing for junior college purposes only, that portion of the City of Austin that is not presently included within the currently existing boundaries of Austin Community College District."


Travis County Elections is conducting the Joint General and Special Elections for the city of Austin and Austin Community College. All qualified Travis County voters can vote early at any of the below sites.

All locations are open Monday-Saturday, 7am-7pm and Sunday, noon-6pm, except Highland Mall and Northcross Mall, open Monday-Saturday 10am-9pm, and Sunday, noon-6pm; and Bryson Municipal Building in Round Rock, open 8am-5pm, April 20, 22, and 25-29; 9am-1pm, April 30, and 7am-7pm, May 1-2.

For more election info, including detailed info about mobile voting sites, which change daily, call 238-VOTE or consult www.co.travis.tx.us/elections.


• Highland Mall (6001 Airport, lower level by J.C. Penney)

• Northcross Mall (2525 W. Anderson, east end near Bealls)


• UT Campus (Flawn Academic Center, UGL lobby, and West Mall)

• Fiesta Mart (3909 N. I-35 at Delwood)

• Travis County Airport Boulevard Offices (5501 Airport)

• Randalls (1500 W. 35th)

• Austin City Hall (301 W. Second, first floor)

• ACC Rio Grande (1212 Rio Grande, student lounge)


• ACC Eastview (3401 Webberville, student commons building)

• HEB (2701 E. Seventh, temporary building in parking lot)

• Northeast Health Center (Springdale Shopping Center, 7712 Ed Bluestein)


• Randalls (1700 W. Parmer)

• ACC Northridge (11928 Stonehollow, admissions lobby northeast)

• Albertsons (11331 N. Lamar at Braker, temporary building in parking lot)


• Randalls (10900-D Research at Braker)

• ACC Cypress Creek (1555 Cypress Creek Rd., student commons)

• HEB, Four Points (7301 FM 620 N. at 2222, in parking lot)

• Albertsons (13435 Hwy. 183 North at Anderson Mill Road South)

• HEB (2400 S. Congress at Oltorf, temporary building in parking lot)

• Randalls (2025 W. Ben White Blvd. at Manchaca)


• Albertsons (5510 S. I-35 at Stassney)

• Albertsons (1819 S. Pleasant Valley at Riverside, in parking lot)


• ACC Pinnacle (7748 Hwy. 290 W., student commons)

• Randalls (6600 S. MoPac at William Cannon)

• Pat Bryson Municipal Building (201 N. Brushy, Round Rock)

  • More of the Story

  • Endorsements

    Our picks in the May 7 elections

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for almost 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Updates for SXSW 2019

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle