Democratic and Republican Joint Primary: March 12, 2002

Early voting through Friday, March 8

The joint primary election allows the Republican and Democratic parties to nominate candidates to represent their parties in the November election. (Other parties, e.g. Libertarian Party or Green Party, generally nominate candidates in conference or at a convention, and do not appear on the primary ballots.) You can vote in either the Republican or the Democratic primary, but not both. If you do not know your election precinct, call Voter Registration: 854-9473.

For other voting information, including early voting sites: Travis County Clerk's Office (238-VOTE), or the county Web site:

For non-partisan candidate info: The League of Women Voters (451-6710),

For Democratic candidates: Travis County Democratic Party (477-7500),

For Republican candidates: Travis County Republican Party (302-1776),

Early Voting Locations

All qualified Travis County voters can vote early at any of these sites. With the exception of malls and mobile sites, locations are open Monday-Saturday, 7am-7pm, and Sunday, noon-6pm.

Highland Mall and Barton Creek Mall hours: Monday-Saturday, 10am-9pm; Sunday, noon-6pm.

For detailed info about the mobile voting sites, which change daily through March 8, call the Travis County Clerk's office or consult the Web site:


Travis County Courthouse (1000 Guadalupe, first floor)

University of Texas (UGL Lobby, West Mall, UT Campus)

Fiesta Mart (3909 N. I-35, Delwood)

HEB South Congress (2400 S. Congress, temporary building in parking lot)


Highland Mall (6001 Airport, Lower Level by JC Penney)

Texpresso Coffee Shop (2700 W. Anderson Lane)

Albertsons North Lamar (11331 N. Lamar @ Braker)

Randalls Parmer Lane (1700 W. Parmer Lane @ Metric)


HEB Springdale (7112 Ed Bluestein)

Albertsons Pflugerville (1601 W. Pecan St., Pflugerville)


Albertsons Riverside (1819 S. Pleasant Valley @ Riverside)


HEB East Seventh (2701 E. Seventh, temp. bldg. in parking lot)

City Market Airport (1148 Airport, Eastland Plaza)


Randalls Ben White (2025 W. Ben White@Manchaca)

Albertsons Stassney (5510 S. I-35@Stassney)


Albertsons West Lake (701 Capital of TX Hwy. S., West Lake)

Randalls South MoPac (6600 S. MoPac @ Wm. Cannon)


Randalls Research (10900-D Research @ Braker)


Randalls Lakeway (2303 S. FM 620, Lakeway)

Barton Creek Mall (2901 Capital of TX Hwy., Lower Level, JC Penney Court in Dillard's Wing)

Numerous races in the Democratic and Republican Party primaries feature uncontested candidates. Listed here are the races (excluding precinct chairs) which include at least two candidates.

Democratic Primary Ballot Contested Races

U.S. Senator
Gene Kelly
Ed Cunningham
Victor Morales
Ken Bentsen
Ron Kirk

U.S. Representative, District 10
Lloyd Doggett
Jennifer Gale

Tony Sanchez
Dan Morales
John WorldPeace
Bill Lyon

Commissioner of the General Land Office
Ray Madrigal
David Bernsen

Commissioner of Agriculture
Tom Ramsay
Ernesto De Leon

Railroad Commissioner
Paul C. Looney
Sherry Boyles

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2
Pat Montgomery
Julius Whittier

State Representative, District 50
James Sylvester
Fidel "Ace" Acevedo

State Representative, District 51
Maria Luisa "Lulu" Flores
Eddie Rodriguez
Sam Guzman
Marcos De Leon
Bill Pool
Julia A. Diggs

County Judge
Richard T. McCain
Sam Biscoe

Judge, County Court at Law, No. 7
Carlton Hughes
Elisabeth Earle
Evelyn Palfrey McKee

County Commissioner, Precinct No. 2
Jeff Heckler
Karen Sonleitner

County Commissioner, Precinct No. 4
Barbara Cilley
Margaret J. Gomez

Republican Primary Ballot Contested Races

U.S. Senator
Bruce Rusty Lang
Douglas G. Deffenbaugh
Lawrence Cranberg
Dudley F. Mooney
John Cornyn

Lieutenant Governor
Tom Kelly
David Dewhurst

Commissioner of the General Land Office
Kenn George
Jerry Patterson

Justice, Supreme Court Place 2
John Cayce
Dale Wainwright
Elizabeth Ray

Justice, Supreme Court Place 3, Unexpired Term
Sam Lee
Wallace B. Jefferson

Justice, Supreme Court Place 4, Unexpired Term
Steven Wayne Smith
Xavier Rodriguez

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 1
Tim Taft
Tom Price
Carolyn Denero

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2
Steve Mansfield
Paul Womack
David Richards

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 3
Guy Williams
Cathy Cochran
Connie J. Kelley
Blair Davis

Member, State Board of Education, District 5
Jim Deats
Dan Montgomery

State Senator, District 25
Jeff Wentworth
John H. Shields

State Senator, District 50
Bob Richardson
Jerry Mikus
Kris Gillespie
Jack Stick

Chief Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals
Lee Yeakel
Ken Law

County Commissioner, Precinct No. 2
Roger Settler
Sheri Perry Gallo

County Commissioner, Precinct No. 3, Unexpired Term
Ira Yates
Gerald Daugherty

County Chairman
Tom (T.C.) Dunham
Alan Sager

Got something to say? The Chronicle welcomes opinion pieces on any topic from the community. Submit yours now at

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle