Election Results

* indicates incumbent

Statewide Races

As we all know by now, the GOP swept every seat contested statewide -- 14 in all. Combine that with the 10-0 sweep in 1996, and the GOP is riding a 24-race win streak.

Travis County State Total
George W. Bush* (R) 60% 69%
Garry Mauro (D) 38% 31%
Lester Turlington (L) 1% 1%
Lieutenant Governor
Rick Perry (R) 41% 50%
John Sharp (D) 57% 48%
Anthony Garcia (L) 2% 2%
Attorney General
John Cornyn (R) 47% 55%
Jim Mattox (D) 51% 44%
Mike Angwin (L) 3% 2%
Comptroller of Public Accounts
Carole Rylander (R) 40% 50%
Paul Hobby (D) 58% 49%
Alex Monchak (L) 2% 1%
Land Commissioner
David Dewhurst (R) 47% 58%
Richard Raymond (D) 49% 40%
Monte Montez (L) 4% 3%
Commissioner of Agriculture
Susan Combs (R) 54% 57%
Pete Patterson (D) 44% 42%
Jimmy T. LaBaume (L) 2% 1%
Railroad Commissioner
Tony Garza (R) 51% 57%
Joe Henderson (D) 45% 40%
Jim Spurlock (L) 4% 3%
Supreme Court Justice Place 1
Craig T. Enoch* (R) 51% 58%
Mike Westergren (D) 49% 42%
Supreme Court Justice Place 2
Harriet O'Neill (R) 44% 54%
Rose Spector* (D) 56% 46%
Supreme Court Justice Place 3
Greg Abbott* (R) 52% 60%
David Van Os (D) 48% 40%
Supreme Court Justice Place 4
Deborah Hankinson* (R) 52% 57%
Jerry Scarbrough (D) 48% 43%
Criminal Appeals Judge Place 1
Mike Keasler (R) 46% 54%
Charlie Baird* (D) 54% 46%
Criminal Appeals Judge Place 2
Cheryl Johnson (R) 51% 58%
Winston Cochran (D) 49% 42%
Criminal Appeals Judge Place 3
Lawrence Meyers* (R) 76% 82%
Larry S. Perry (L) 24% 18%

The following races were contested over a 23-county area of Central Texas

Appeals Court Chief Justice Dist. 3
Marilyn Aboussie (D) 57% 53%
Lee Yeakel* (R) 43% 47%
Appeals Court Justice Dist. 3
Jan Patterson (D) 57% 51%
David Puryear (R) 43% 49%

City Propositions

All 12 of the city propositions passed -- General Obligation bonds, revenue bonds, even the controversial Town Lake Park/Palmer Auditorium plan. Not surprisingly, the Transportation and Public Safety packages did the best, with over 70% approval. Perhaps less expected were the resounding thumbs-up for Palmer, the ambitious Destination Parks plan (#2), and the long-awaited MACC (#4). The lowest vote-getter? $121 million for Prop. 10, to expand the city's wastewater system capacity.

Prop. 1 (Transportation) 72.5%

Prop. 2 (Parks & Rec Centers) 59.3%

Prop. 3 (Public Safety) 72.1%

Prop. 4 (Libraries / Museums) 60.2%

Prop. 5 (Flood & Erosion) 66.0%

Prop. 6 (Water Utility Repair) 66.4%

Prop. 7 (Expand Water System) 57.1%

Prop. 8 (Expand Water Supply) 57.2%

Prop. 9 (Wastewater Repair) 63.3%

Prop. 10 (Wastewater Capacity) 55.2%

Prop. 11 (Civic Center) 56.1%

Prop. 12 (Palmer Aud.) 62.9%

State Legislature

Democrats appear to have lost three seats in the state House, as longtime incumbent Charles Finnell of Holliday lost by 350 votes, and the GOP picked up seats is Terrell and Rockdale where incumbent Dems retired. That would leave the Dems with a slim 79-71 edge in the lower house -- and it could get worse. Two more incumbents could face recounts: Ken Yarbrough of Houston and local boy Alec Rhodes, who won his race in Dripping Springs by just 20 votes.

Democrats did gain one seat in the state Senate, as David Bernsen upset incumbent Michael Galloway in District 4, north of Houston, but the GOP still controls the upper house, 16-15 (plus, of course, Rick Perry will now preside over the Senate as Lt. Governor).

State Representative Dist. 46

Alec Rhodes* (D) 14,987

Rick Green (R) 14,787

State Representative Dist. 47

Terry Keel* (R) 100%

State Representative Dist. 48

Sherri Greenberg* (D) 100%

State Representative Dist. 49

Elliott Naishtat* (D) 63%

Emil Blomquist (R) 37%

State Representative Dist. 50

Dawnna M. Dukes* (D) 100%

State Representative Dist. 51

Glen Maxey* (D) 73%

Fred Ebner (R) 27%

U.S. House

Incumbents went undefeated in 29 House races in Texas, and the 30th seat went to a retiring incumbent's son -- Charlie Gonzales of San Antonio. In fact, though several races around the state were supposed to be tight, no challenger pulled over 45.1% of the vote. (On the national front, Democrats appear to have gained five House seats, making Bill Clinton, believe it or not, the first president since James Monroe to make such a gain in his second midterm.)

United States Rep., Dist. 10

Lloyd Doggett (D) 85%

Vincent J. May (L) 15%

United States Rep., Dist. 14

Ron Paul (R) 55%

Loy Sneary (D) 45%

County & Local

Democrats prevailed in the majority of the county races with one historic Republican upset in Pct. 3 that gave GOP contender Todd Baxter a narrow victory over Democrat Nan Clayton. Another cliff-hanger edged Pct. 2 Commissioner Karen Sonleitner into the winner's seat over Republican Jim Shaw. As predicted, Sam Bisoe won the county judge's post; voters re-elected Pct. 4 Commissioner Margaret Gómez and gave Pct. 1 contender Ron Davis an easy ride into office. Dems will also keep control over the county courthouse. In the justice of the peace races, only one Republican, Barbara Bembry, prevailed.

County Judge

Sam Biscoe (D )57%

Hank Davis Gonzalez (R)43%

County Commissioner Pct. 1

Ron Davis (D) 71%

Greg Parker (R) 29%

County Commissioner Pct. 2

Karen Sonleitner* (D) 51%

Jim Shaw (R) 49%

County Commissioner Pct. 3

Todd Baxter (R )50.5%

Nan Clayton (D) 49.5%

County Commissioner Pct. 4

Margaret J. Gómez* (D) 65%

Bob Larson 35%

District Clerk

A. Rodriguez-Mendoza* (D) 55%

Stephen Foster (R) 5%

County Clerk

Dana DeBeauvoir* (D) 60%

Bud Schauerte (R )40%

County Treasurer

Dolores Ortega-Carter* (D) 56%

Crockett Keller (R) 44%

County Surveyor

M.O. Metcalfe, Jr* (D) 53%

James F. Mitchell (R) 47%

147th Judicial District Judge

Wilford Flowers* (D) 57%

Marian C. Bloss (R) 43%

261st Judicial District Judge

Lora Livingston (D) 57%

John Drolla (R) 43%

County Court at Law Judge No. 6

Jan Breland (D) 60%

Randy Trybus (R) 40%

Justice of the Peace Pct. 2

Barbara Bembry (R )61%

Richard H. Anton (D) 39%

Justice of the Peace Pct. 3

Scott Davis* (D) 51%

Jeff Casey (R) 49%

Justice of the Peace Pct. 4

Elena Diaz* (D) 85%

Gary Johnson (L) 15%

Constable Pct. 1

Luke Mercer* (D) 89%

Reginald Turner (L) 11%

201st Judicial District Judge

Suzanne Covington* (D) 100%

250th Judicial District Judge

John K. Dietz* (D) 100%

299th Judicial District Judge

Jon N. Wisser* (D) 100%

331st Judicial District Judge

Bob Perkins* (D) 100%

County Court at Law Judge No. 1

David Phillips* (D) 100%

County Court at Law Judge No. 2

Orlinda Naranjo* (D) 100%

County Court at Law Judge No. 3

David Crain* (D) 100%

County Court at Law Judge No. 4

Mike Denton (D) 100%

County Court at Law Judge No. 5

Wilfred Aguilar* (D) 100%

County Court at Law Judge No. 7

Brenda P. Kennedy (D) 100%

County Probate Court Judge No. 1

Guy Herman (D) 100%

Justice of the Peace Pct. 1

Richard E. Scott (D) 100%

Justice of the Peace Pct. 5

Gisela Triana (D) 100%

Got something to say on the subject? Send a letter to the editor.

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle