March 10 Primary Election Results

(contested races only)

*denotes winner **dentoes a runoff ***denotes incumbent

Statewide Primary Results



Governor (R)
*George Bush*** 96.6% 97.3%
R.C. Crawford 3.4% 2.7%
Attorney General
*Jim Mattox 68.4% 66.0%
Morris Overstreet 18.2% 27.7%
Gene Kelly 13.4% 5.7%
**Barry Williamson 38.1% 35.1%
**John Cornyn 32.2% 40.3%
Tom Pauken 29.7% 24.6%
Land Commissioner (R)
*David Dewhurst 51.2% 48.1%
Jerry Patterson 41.7% 41.2%
Don Loucks 7.1% 10.7%
Commissioner of Agriculture
*Pete Patterson 59.0% 51.5%
Ernesto De Leon 41.0% 48.5%
*Susan Combs 75.0% 82.7%
Hamp Hodges 25.0% 17.3%
Railroad Commissioner
*Joe Henderson 63.2% 41.3%
Gary Dugger 36.8% 58.7%
*Tony Garza 53.1% 66.3%
Steve Stockman 46.9% 33.7%

Travis Co. Commissioners Court

County Judge
*Sam Biscoe 41.7%
Valarie Bristol
**Hank Davis Gonzalez 29.9%
**Dewayne Naumann 26.9%
Sue Raine
County Commissioner Pct. 1 (D)
**Ron Davis 44.0%
**Stacy Dukes-Rhone 31.6%
Darwin McKee*** 24.4%
County Commissioner Pct. 4 (D)
*Margaret J. Gomez*** 58.8%
Richard Moya 41.2%
County Commissioner Pct. 2
*Karen Sonleitner*** 22.2%
Haywood Ware
*Jim Shaw 50.7%
Bob Honts 49.3%
County Commissioner Pct. 3
*Nan Clayton 54.1%
Ann Graham 45.9%
**Todd Baxter 48.8%
**Rick Schafer 28.3%
Darrell Wilson 9.2%
Albert W. "Al" Holmes 13.8%

Other Travis Co. Races

County Judge**Mary P.Hughes-Bass
**Fred Ebner 40.2%
**Roger Settler 34.3%
"Bread Man" Blakely 25.4%
3rd Appeals Court
*Jan Patterson 74.5%
Bob Roller 25.5%
*David Puryear 71.6%
Lee Yeakel 28.4%
261st District Court (D)
*Lora Livingston 57%
Karen Parker 43%
County Court-at-Law #5 (D)
*Wilfred Aguilar*** 53.1%
Janet Stockard 32.3%
John Cutright 14.6%
County Court-at-Law #6 (D)
**Jan Breland 46.2%
**Jade Meeker 33.9%
Russell Ramirez 20.0%
Justice of the Peace Pct. 2 (R)
**Barbara Bembry 40.0%
**Nathan H. Zook 28.7%
Laurin Currie 25.9%
Elisa Angel 5.4%
Justice of the Peace Pct. 3 (R)
**Mary P.Hughes-Bass 37.5%
**Lee Bergeron 29.1%
Jeffrey R. "Jeff" Casey 33.4%
Justice of the Peace Pct. 5 (D)
*Gisela Triana 52.7%
Herb Evans 47.3%
County Chairman (R)
*Becky Motal 59.2%
Mike McNamara 40.8%

Got something to say? The Chronicle welcomes opinion pieces on any topic from the community. Submit yours now at

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle