Jackie Venson

Live at Strange Brew

Texas Platters

Nubile and lacking pretense, Austin blues singer/guitarist Jackie Venson lays plain her strengths and weaknesses on her live debut, the rock/reggae-tinged Live at Strange Brew. "Show My Light" elucidates her many qualities right out of the gate, vacillating between ends. While its lyrical content lacks punch, she showcases an innate ability to keep moving, peppering the audience with seasoned blues licks and George Benson-like vocal scat. That said, her willingness to stand naked lyrically and vocally remains one of Venson's most admirable traits. "You impress me, the way you test me," she sings with wispy smoke at a nondescript love interest on "What I Need." Her voice, smoldering and honest, won't blow doors off buildings, but if she could, it would be overkill. The Berklee grad's astonishing proficiency on guitar, best demonstrated on "Back to Earth," portends her future as an instrumental paragon. On tempo change "See What You Want" and island riddim "Lost in Time" one can easily imagine South Austinites greedily rubbing their hands together, anticipating another treasure trove solo.


A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for almost 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

More Jackie Venson
Faster Than Sound: Jackie Venson Solos
Faster Than Sound: Jackie Venson Solos
Local blues hero goes solo to cut costs, city polls on use of $12 million earmarked for the arts, and the U.S. State Dept. blocks Palestinian artist Dirar Kalash from the Fusebox Festival

Rachel Rascoe, April 12, 2019

Tour Diary: Jackie Venson
Tour Diary: Jackie Venson
Rising ATX guitarist recounts opening for the local blues slinger

Jackie Venson, Oct. 20, 2017

More Music Reviews
Texas Platters
Grupo Fantasma
American Music Vol. VII (Record Review)

Raoul Hernandez, April 19, 2019

Texas Platters
Dogs & Diamonds
Last Free Exit (Record Review)

Tim Stegall, April 19, 2019

More by Kahron Spearman
Texas Platters
T$O – Trill Shit Only
T$O – Trill Shit Only (Record Review)

April 12, 2019

Texas Platters
Gary Clark Jr.
This Land (Record Review)

March 22, 2019


Jackie Venson

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Updates for SXSW 2019

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle