Jon Langford & Skull Orchard

Here Be Monsters (In De Goot)

SXSW 2014 Records

Jon Langford & Skull Orchard

Here Be Monsters (In De Goot)

In his three-and-a-half decades as the hardest working man in punk, rock, and roots, Mekons/Waco Brothers/Three Johns co-frontman and multimedia visionary Jon Langford has established a lofty standard of brawny melodicism and personally and politically charged songcraft, building a formidable songbook on a foundation of stubborn humanism and a finely honed sense of the absurd. Here Be Monsters, the Brit expat's latest under the recurring Skull Orchard banner, embodies all of the qualities of Langford's best work, emphasizing the bittersweet, introspective edge that's become increasingly prominent in his work in recent years. The latter quality, underlined by the complementary contrast of Langford's hearty wail and the evocative vox of actress/comic Tawny Newsome and violinist Jean Cook, is particularly affecting on "Summer Stars," "Mars," and "Sugar on Your Tongue," while the starkly acoustic "If You Hear Rumours" arrives as a timely anthem. The charmingly ramshackle "Lil' Ray o' Light" may be the closest that Langford has ever come to explicit autobiography. (12mid, Rowdy's Saloon)


More Music Reviews
Texas Platters
The Crack Pipes
Beauty School (Record Review)

Michael Toland, Oct. 20, 2017

Texas Platters
Milligan Vaughan Project
Milligan Vaughan Project (Record Review)

Raoul Hernandez, Sept. 1, 2017

More by Scott Schinder
Music DVDs
The Byrd Who Flew Alone: The Triumphs and Tragedy of Gene Clark

Dec. 19, 2014

Box Sets
Bob Dylan & The Band
The Basement Tapes Complete: The Bootleg Series Vol. 11 (Record Review)

Dec. 12, 2014


Jon Langford & Skull Orchard

AC Daily, Events and Promotions, Luvdoc Answers

Breaking news, recommended events, and more

Official Chronicle events, promotions, and giveaways

Updates for SXSW 2017

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)