Book Review: Rock & Roll Books

Peter Aaron

Rock & Roll Books

If You Like the Ramones ...

by Peter Aaron
Backbeat Books, 278 pp., $16.99

As the lengthy subtitle asserts, "Here Are Over 200 Bands, CDs, Films, and Other Oddities That You Will Love." Punk-blues musician Peter Aaron (Chrome Cranks) has penned an authoritative, annotated guide to the culture that both spawned and was spawned by the leather-jacketed chainsaw-pop quartet that would become punk rock's definitive band. If You Like the Ramones ... could be a necessary update on the early Eighties Catalog of Cool, underlining what records to buy – anything from Chuck Berry and the Ronettes, the Beatles, and the Stones to Black Sabbath, the Stooges, and the New York Dolls, with some Dick Dale in between – to understand what made "Blitzkrieg Bop" so crucial. It's not just knowing the shadow the Ramones cast over every punk, hardcore, thrash metal, and alternative act that followed, but also about appreciating Mighty Mouse and Woody Woodpecker, Mad magazine and The Amazing Spider-Man, Freaks and Nightmare Alley, Hogan's Heroes and The Munsters. Aaron's written a guide to everything historically fast and loud.

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

READ MORE
More Ramones
Heart-Shaped Box Sets
Ramones
Leave Home (40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition), Rocket to Russia (40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) (Record Review)

Tim Stegall, Dec. 8, 2017

Too Late to Stop Now
Ramones
Ramones 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (Record Review)

Tim Stegall, Dec. 16, 2016

More Music Reviews
<i>Me & Mr. Cigar</i>
Me & Mr. Cigar
Butthole Surfers singer Gibby Haynes debuts a deeply weird and wonderful young adult novel.

Alyssa Quiles, Feb. 21, 2020

Revenge of the She-Punks
Revenge of the She-Punks

Rachel Rascoe, Dec. 6, 2019

More by Tim Stegall
Proms, Humps, and Queerbombs Highlight This Weekend's Events
Proms, Humps, and Queerbombs Highlight This Weekend's Events
21 ways to get out of the house

May 31, 2024

Jon Muq Album Release, Hole in the Wall Anniversary, and More Crucial Concerts
Jon Muq Album Release, Hole in the Wall Anniversary, and More Crucial Concerts
All manner of sounds for every ear

May 31, 2024

KEYWORDS FOR THIS STORY

Ramones, gift guide 2013

MORE IN THE ARCHIVES
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle