Book Review: Rock & Roll Books

Peter Aaron

Rock & Roll Books

If You Like the Ramones ...

by Peter Aaron
Backbeat Books, 278 pp., $16.99

As the lengthy subtitle asserts, "Here Are Over 200 Bands, CDs, Films, and Other Oddities That You Will Love." Punk-blues musician Peter Aaron (Chrome Cranks) has penned an authoritative, annotated guide to the culture that both spawned and was spawned by the leather-jacketed chainsaw-pop quartet that would become punk rock's definitive band. If You Like the Ramones ... could be a necessary update on the early Eighties Catalog of Cool, underlining what records to buy – anything from Chuck Berry and the Ronettes, the Beatles, and the Stones to Black Sabbath, the Stooges, and the New York Dolls, with some Dick Dale in between – to understand what made "Blitzkrieg Bop" so crucial. It's not just knowing the shadow the Ramones cast over every punk, hardcore, thrash metal, and alternative act that followed, but also about appreciating Mighty Mouse and Woody Woodpecker, Mad magazine and The Amazing Spider-Man, Freaks and Nightmare Alley, Hogan's Heroes and The Munsters. Aaron's written a guide to everything historically fast and loud.

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 36 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

READ MORE
More Ramones
Heart-Shaped Box Sets
Ramones
Leave Home (40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition), Rocket to Russia (40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) (Record Review)

Tim Stegall, Dec. 8, 2017

Too Late to Stop Now
Ramones
Ramones 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (Record Review)

Tim Stegall, Dec. 16, 2016

More Music Reviews
Jimmy Buffett: A Good Life All the Way
Jimmy Buffett: A Good Life All the Way
The Parrothead behind the empire

Doug Freeman, July 21, 2017

All Over the Map, True Heroes of Texas Music
All Over the Map, True Heroes of Texas Music

Kevin Curtin, June 16, 2017

More by Tim Stegall
Top 10 Austin Albums of 2017
Top 10 Austin Albums of 2017
Consensus on the best local platters

Dec. 29, 2017

2017 Music Critics Poll
2017 Music Critics Poll
Best roadshow, best new local acts, R.I.P.s, etc.

Dec. 29, 2017

KEYWORDS FOR THIS STORY

Ramones, gift guide 2013

MORE IN THE ARCHIVES
NEWSLETTERS
AC Daily, Events and Promotions, Luvdoc Answers

Breaking news, recommended events, and more

Official Chronicle events, promotions, and giveaways

Updates for SXSW 2017

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle