Jitterbug Vipers

Phoebe's Dream

Texas Platters

Jitterbug Vipers

Phoebe's Dream

"When you're high, there's nothing else to do but watch your very next breath make its way through the sky," melts Sarah Sharp in a tranquil vocal haze on "When You're High," lulling an ephemerality that seeps through the entirety of Phoebe's Dream. Featuring nine new originals from the local quartet, the disc mines their smooth and intoxicating Thirties "viper jazz," while also marking the return of Austin guitar maestro Slim Richey, recovered from last year's hit-and-run (see "Viper Moon", April 20, 2012). He enthralls on instrumental homage "Django's Birthday," but also the slinky break of "A Viper Just the Same," accenting Sharp's breathy vocals atop Francie Meaux Jeaux's upright bass and Masumi Jones' easy backbeat. Elizabeth McQueen joins on the ribald "Stuff It" and Jacob Jaeger on the country-ish turn of "That Was Just the Sauce Talking." Elsewhere, takes on "Billie's Blues" and "Dangerous" mesmerize. A Dream come true.


More Jitterbug Vipers
Viper Moon
Viper Moon
Slim Richey recovers

Doug Freeman, April 20, 2012

More Music Reviews
Texas Platters
The Crack Pipes
Beauty School (Record Review)

Michael Toland, Oct. 20, 2017

Texas Platters
Milligan Vaughan Project
Milligan Vaughan Project (Record Review)

Raoul Hernandez, Sept. 1, 2017

More by Doug Freeman
Texas Platters
Clear Language (Record Review)

Oct. 20, 2017

ACL Review: Midland
Grinning hipster flair with contemporary country appeal

Oct. 16, 2017


Jitterbug Vipers

AC Daily, Events and Promotions, Luvdoc Answers

Breaking news, recommended events, and more

Official Chronicle events, promotions, and giveaways

Updates for SXSW 2017

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)