Fool's Gold


SXSW Records

Fool's Gold

(I Am Sound)

Fool's Gold expands globally upon co-founding guitarist Lewis Pesacov's side project, Foreign Born, in every possible direction. The 10-plus L.A. collective fuses elements of African funk, Western pop, and, in the Hebrew vocals of Israel-born bassist/songwriter Luke Top, even a bit of the Middle East into joyous jams that will keep you dancing in the streets for days. This cultural appropriation might yield fool's gold in lesser hands, but this outfit – a rotating cast that also features members of We Are Scientists, Glasser, and the Fall – approaches this material with a celebratory reverence. "Surprise Hotel" pits West African guitars, light and crisp, against circular percussive rhythms and fluttering horns, not unlike the psychedelic trance of "Yam Lo Moshech." There's some Roy Orbison in Top's enchanting croon, most evident in standouts "Nadine" and "Poseidon," which spotlight Argentine pop star Erica Garcia, while "Ha Dvash" kicks up sand like the Western Sahara blues of Tinariwen and Group Doueh. Grab a shaker and join in. (Fri., 11:15pm, Emo's Main.)


A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

Friday Showcases
Friday Showcases
Korea, Japan, Spain, Africa – see the world from single showcases

March 20, 2015

Saturday Interview
Saturday Interview

Kevin Curtin, March 20, 2015

More Music Reviews
Memorable Moments From ACL Fest Weekend One
Memorable Moments From ACL Fest Weekend One
Some of our favorite performances that you can revisit this weekend

Abby Johnston, Oct. 14, 2022

Review: The Bearer's <i>Chained to a Tree</i> (Silent Pendulum)
The Bearer's Chained to a Tree (Silent Pendulum)
Chained to a Tree (Record Review)

Raoul Hernandez, Sept. 23, 2022

More by Austin Powell
What We’re Listening to This Week
What We’re Listening to This Week
New, local platters from Brazos, Fuvk, Discreet, and Eric Hisaw Band

Dec. 30, 2022

Watch This: Balmorhea’s Gorgeous Concert Film, Free for Three Days Only
Watch This: Balmorhea’s Gorgeous Concert Film, Free for Three Days Only
Live in Marfa breathes new life into The Wind

Dec. 1, 2022


Fool's Gold

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Behind the scenes at The Austin Chronicle

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle