Moosehead

Canada gets bigger

Holy Fuck
Holy Fuck

Oh, Canada. Why do you love your Americana so?

Is it the cold winters and desolation of the Northwest Territories?

Is it your open heart and mind lending themselves to emotive, acoustic songwriting from Vancouver to Halifax? Your southern neighbors know a few things about you:

1) You love hockey.

2) You love doughnuts.

3) You love a Broken Social Scene.

Streaming down once again from the Great White North – 109 performers, last we counted – there's one thing this year's class of Canucks has in common: a support system unlike anything the U.S. has ever seen. Government builds (Canada Council for the Arts), musicians share beds, and boundaries quickly disappear. The Broken Social Scene is down to one member this year – Jason Collett – but there's still plenty of lager to go round and down.


The Cool Kids

City & Colour: Iron & Wine's long lost cousin.

Destroyer: Daniel Bejar's longtime troupe.

The Weakerthans: John K. Samson's voice counteracts his band's jitters.

The Most Serene Republic: Arts & Craftsmen love Death Cab.

Handsome Furs: Wolf Parade's Dan Boeckner and Alexei Perry go dark.

Islands: Former Unicorns head toward offshore.

Jason Collett: Broken Social Scene on AM radio.

Land of Talk: Elizabeth Powell's band goes Applause Cheer Boo Hiss.

The Stills: New album on the way from the lush orchestrators.

Tokyo Police Club: The hype formed an Elephant Shell.

Vancouger: Sixties girl groups are back.

Martha Wainwright: Name's familiar, and her folk-pop's divine.


Juno Nominees

Pride Tiger
Pride Tiger

The Juno Awards are Canada's Grammys, so they too have their share of major label shudders. Fortunately, talent rises to the top, so alongside Celine Dion and Avril Lavigne proudly stand 11 of your SXSW 08 showcasers. Trophies go out April 6. The nominees are:

Blue Rodeo: The roots-country supergroup has sold more than 3 million albums since its 1984 inception. (Adult Alternative Album of the Year for Small Miracles, Group of the Year.)

The Sadies: Yep Roc's 10-year-old rural-psych band knocked it out of the park with last year's New Seasons. (Roots & Traditional Album of the Year: Group.)

Jill Barber: More singer-songwriter than Americana strummer, Barber is a vocalist For All Time. (Roots & Traditional Album of the Year: Solo.)

Alex Cuba: Young, Cuban-born multi-instrumentalist already has one on the mantle for 2006's rhythmic Humo de Tabaco. (World Music Album of the Year for Agua del Pozo.)

Jeremy Fisher: Fisher's Goodbye Blue Monday is all poppy innocence and sunshine. We get it. (Adult Alternative Album of the Year, New Artist of the Year.)

Holy Fuck: All improv, all the time, Rachael Ray's favorite band debuts with its self-titled introspection on Young Turks. (Alternative Album of the Year.)

Justin Nozuka: Justin Timberlake with an acoustic guitar, Nozuka drops Holly in April. (New Artist of the Year.)

Matthew Good: The avid blogger and former bandleader released his seventh, Hospital Music, last year, reportedly his last on Universal. (Rock Album of the Year.)

Pride Tiger: Good, hard rock & roll with a singing drummer is so rare these days that they deemed themselves The Lucky Ones (EMI). (Rock Album of the Year.)


The Luke Doucet Connection

Toronto's Luke Doucet caught us off guard with 2005's heartbreaking Broken (and Other Rogue States). Apparently, it rubbed off on a lot of other folks, as well. Not only is Doucet an astonishing producer, his detailed musicianship is heavenly. With newbie Blood's Too Rich in hand, he's holding down the fort as producer and guest on several projects.

Carolyn Mark: Neko Case's kindred spirit.

N.Q. Arbuckle: Neville Quinlan leads like an early-day Jon Dee Graham.

Jill Barber: When brother Matt's busy creating his own, Doucet helps out.


Dance Class

MSTRKRFT
MSTRKRFT

Bella: Two chicks and a dude keep the machines and strobes pumping.

Creature: Blondie's long-lost club hits.

Duchess Says: Moog-rock spaz.

Crystal Castles: One girl, one boy, no eyes, no interviews.

Let's Go to War: DJ Cirkut, Jet Brown International, and Sonny Genius.

Peer Pressure: Full-blown fiesta.

Shout Out Out Out Out: Volatile dance music for robots.

The Russian Futurists: Matthew Adam Hart mixes man and machine.

MSTRKRFT: DFA 1979's Jesse F. Keeler (aka JFK) turns the other cheek with producer Al-P.


Cold Effects

Laura Barrett: Kalimba, kazoo, vibraphone, piano.

Nadja: Aidan Baker & Leah Buckareff's ambient, experimental metal.

Tanya Tagaq: Inuit throat singer with ties to Björk and Matthew Barney.

The Choir Practice: 15-piece a cappella choir.

Torngat: Instrumental trio of French horn, keys, and drums.

Cassius Khan: Tabla master plays and sings Ghazals simultaneously.


Punk U

Attack in Black

CPC Gangbangs

Fucked Up

The Flatliners

Ultimate Power Duo


Rock Steady

Black Mountain

Constantines

Hot Springs

The Cliks


Two Tables & a Mic

Skratch Bastid

Smalltown DJs

Cadence Weapon

Ghislain Poirier

Grand Analog

Socalled

Thunderheist


Canada

The Acorn, Ottawa, www.theacorn.ca, Wednesday, 12mid, Habana Calle 6

Alex Cuba, Smithers, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=98258, Thursday, 9pm, Copa

Attack in Black, Welland, www.attackinblack.com, Saturday, 11:30pm, Momo's

Jill Barber, Halifax, www.jillbarber.com, Thursday, 10pm, Velveeta Room

Matt Barber, Toronto, www.matthewbarber.com, Thursday, 9pm, Velveeta Room

Laura Barrett, Toronto, www.myspace.com/laurabarrett, Wednesday, 8pm, Habana Calle 6

Beasts & Superbeasts, Victoria, www.myspace.com/beastsandsuperbeast, Wednesday, 8pm, Wave

Bella, Vancouver, www.bellamusic.org, Friday, 1am, Club 115

Birds of Wales, Toronto, www.birdsofwales.com, Wednesday, 9pm, Wave

Black Mountain, Vancouver, www.blackmountainarmy.com, Thursday, 1am, Mohawk

The Blood Lines, Saskatoon, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=74949, Thursday, 11pm, Blind Pig

Blue Rodeo & Friends, Toronto, www.bluerodeo.com, Friday, 11pm, Smokin' Music

Elliott Brood, Toronto, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=65154, Saturday, 11pm, Velveeta Room

Basia Bulat, Toronto, www.basiabulat.com, Friday, 9pm, Antone's

Cadence Weapon, Edmonton, www.cadenceweaponmusic.com, Wednesday, 1am, Habana Calle 6

The Cansecos, Toronto, www.thecansecos.com, Wednesday, 9pm, Habana Calle 6

Cassius Khan, Edmonton, cassiuskhan.impendo.com, Wednesday, 8pm, Copa

The Choir Practice, Vancouver, www.myspace.com/thechoirpractice, Friday, 10pm, Club 115

City & Colour, St.Catherines, www.cityandcolour.ca, Saturday, 12:30am, Momo's

The Cliks, Toronto, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=22093, Thursday, 12mid, Dirty Dog Bar

The Coast, Toronto, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=88581, Thursday, 9pm, Wave

Jason Collett, Toronto, www.arts-crafts.ca/jasoncollett, Saturday, 11pm, the Parish

Constantines, Toronto, www.constantines.ca, Saturday, 10pm, the Parish

CPC Gangbangs, Monteal, www.myspace.com/cpcgangbangs, Saturday, 1am, Friends

Creature (CAN), Montreal, www.creatureband.com, Friday, 1am, Maggie Mae's

Crystal Castles, Toronto, www.myspace.com/crystalcastles, Saturday, 12mid, Wave

Dandi Wind, Vancouver, www.dandiwind.com, Saturday, 12mid, Beauty Bar

Demon's Claws, Montreal, www.myspace.com/demonsclaws, Wednesday, 10pm, Lamberts

Destroyer, Vancouver, www.myspace.com/destroyer, Friday, 1am, the Parish

The Details, Winnipeg, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=82350, Wednesday, 11pm, Wave

Luke Doucet & the White Falcon, Toronto, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=39265, Saturday, 12mid, Velveeta Room

Duchess Says, Montreal, www.duchesssays.com, Saturday, 12mid, Friends

Christine Fellows, Winnipeg, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=54474, Saturday, 10pm, Velveeta Room

Jeremy Fisher, Vancouver, www.jeremyfishermusic.com, Wednesday, 9pm, 18th Floor @ Hilton Gardens

The Flatliners, Richmond Hill, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=22812, Thursday, 10pm, Red 7

Kim Fontaine, Saskatoon, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=73991, Wednesday, 11pm, Momo's

Fucked Up, Toronto, www.lookingforgold.blogspot.com, Thursday, 9:30pm, Vice

Geronimo, Regina, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=72336, Thursday, 10pm, Blind Pig

Ghislain Poirier, Montreal, www.myspace.com/ghislainpoirier, Thursday, 10:15pm, Elysium

The Golden Dogs, Toronto, www.thegoldendogs.com, Friday, 8pm, the Ale House

Matthew Good, Burnaby, www.matthewgood.org, Saturday, 10:30pm, Momo's

Grand Analog, Winnipeg, www.myspace.com/grandanalog, Saturday, 8:10pm, Flamingo Cantina

Jenn Grant, Halifax, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=84924, Saturday, 9pm, Velveeta Room

Handsome Furs, Montreal, www.myspace.com/handsomefurs, Friday, 10:30pm, Bourbon Rocks

Rebekah Higgs, Halifax, www.rebekahhiggs.com, Thursday, 8pm, Velveeta Room

Hollerado, Montreal, www.hollerado.com, Saturday, 9:30pm, Momo's

Holy Fuck, Toronto, www.myspace.com/holyfuck, Thursday, 1am, Wave

Hot Springs, Montreal, www.hot-springs.ca, Thursday, 12mid, Maggie Mae's

Hungry Hill, Whitehorse, Yukon, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=88528, Thursday, 10pm, St. David's Church

Islands, Montreal, www.islandsareforever.com, Thursday, TBA, Emo's Main

Lindsay Jane, Winnipeg, lindsayjane.ca, Friday, 8pm, Club 115

Jokers of the Scene, Ottawa, www.myspace.com/sceneofthejoker, Saturday, TBA, Volume

Caroline Keating, Montreal, www.myspace.com/carolinekeating carolinekeating, Thursday, 9pm, Maggie Mae's

Krief, Montreal, www.kriefmusic.com, Friday, 9pm, Maggie Mae's

Land of Talk, Montreal, www.myspace.com/landoftalkmtl, Friday, 10pm, Red Eyed Fly

Jen Lane, Saskatoon, www.jenlane.com, Wednesday, 10pm, Momo's

Daniel Lanois, Toronto, daniellanois.com, Wednesday, 11pm, Pangaea

Let's Go to War, Toronto, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=131581, Thursday, 9pm, Blind Pig

Catherine MacLellan, Halifax, www.catherinemaclellan.com, Wednesday, 9pm, Velveeta Room

Dan Mangan, Vancouver, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=37661, Wednesday, 10pm, Velveeta Room

Marianas Trench, Vancouver, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=131560, Wednesday, 10pm, Wave

Carolyn Mark, Victoria, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=13146, Friday, 9pm, Club 115

Lorrie Matheson, Calgary, www.lorriematheson.com, Wednesday, 8pm, Velveeta Room

The Mission District, Montreal, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=95638, Thursday, 10pm, Maggie Mae's

Katie Moore, Montreal, www.katiemoore.ca, Friday, 8pm, Maggie Mae's

The Most Serene Republic, Milton, www.themostserenerepublic.com, Saturday, 9pm, the Parish

MSTRKRFT, Toronto, www.myspace.com/mstrkrft, Saturday, 1am, Vice

Nadja, Toronto, www.nadjaluv.ca, Saturday, 10pm, the Ale House

No Kids, Vancouver, www.myspace.com/nokidsband, Saturday, 9pm, Lamberts

Justin Nozuka, Toronto, www.justinnozuka.com, Thursday, 1am, Velveeta Room

N.Q. Arbuckle, Toronto, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=16858, Saturday, 1am, Velveeta Room

The Nymphets, Montreal, www.thenymphets.com, Saturday, 8pm, Friends

Oh Susanna, Toronto, www.ohsusannamusic.com, Thursday, 11pm, Velveeta Room

The Pack A.D., Vancouver, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=79685, Friday, 11pm, Club 115

Parkas, Toronto, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=7361, Wednesday, 1am, Wave

Peer Pressure, Montreal, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=121348, Saturday, 7pm, Friends

The Perpetrators, Winnipeg, www.perps.ca, Thursday, 8pm, Opal Divine's

Plants & Animals, Montreal, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=89697, Friday, 11pm, Maggie Mae's

Pride Tiger, Vancouver, www.pridetiger.com, Saturday, 10pm, Esther's Follies

The Russian Futurists, Toronto, www.russianfuturists.com, Wednesday, 11pm, Habana Calle 6

The Sadies, Toronto, www.thesadies.net, Thursday, 12mid, Continental Club

Shout Out Out Out Out, Edmonton, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=40319, Thursday, 11:15pm, Beauty Bar

Simply Saucer, Hamilton, www.sonicunyon.com/simplysaucer, Thursday, 11pm, B.D. Riley's

Megasoid, Montreal, www.weaponshouse.com, Thursday, 12:30am, Elysium

Skratch Bastid, Montreal, www.skratchbastid.com, Thursday, 1am, Karma Lounge

Smalltown DJs, Calgary, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=113176, Thursday, 12mid, Karma Lounge

Socalled, Montreal, www.socalled.com, Saturday, 10pm, Friends

Spiral Beach, Toronto, www.spiralbeach.com, Saturday, 8:30pm, Momo's

The Stills, Montreal, www.thestills.net, Saturday, 1am, the Parish

Sylvie, Regina, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=8892, Wednesday, 12mid, Wave

Tanya Tagaq, Cambridge Bay, www.tanyatagaq.com, Saturday, 9pm, Friends

Think About Life, Montreal, www.myspace.com/thinkaboutlife, Saturday, 11pm, Friends

Thunderheist, Toronto, www.thunderheist.com, Thursday, TBA, Emo's Main

Tokyo Police Club, Toronto, www.tokyopoliceclub.net, Saturday, 1am, Dirty Dog Bar

Torngat, Montreal, www.torngat.ca, Friday, 10pm, Maggie Mae's

Twin Crystals, Vancouver, www.myspace.com/twincrystals, Saturday, 9pm, Beauty Bar

Ultimate Power Duo, Saskatoon, www.myspace.com/ultimatepowerduo, Thursday, 1am, Blind Pig

The United Steel Workers of Montreal, Montreal, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=39149, Thursday, 1am, Maggie Mae's

Vancougar, Vancouver, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=127934, Friday, 12mid, Club 115

Martha Wainwright, Montreal, www.marthawainwright.com, Thursday, 11pm, Maggie Mae's

The Weakerthans, Winnepeg, www.theweakerthans.org, Thursday, 11pm, Cedar Street Courtyard

Woodhands, Toronto, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=107818, Wednesday, 10pm, Habana Calle 6

Woodpigeon, Calgary, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=95682, Thursday, 8pm, Blind Pig

Your Favorite Enemies, Montreal, www.sonicbids.com/epk/epk.asp?epk_id=109607, Thursday, 8pm, Maggie Mae's

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for almost 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

READ MORE
Friday Showcases
Friday Showcases
Korea, Japan, Spain, Africa – see the world from single showcases

March 20, 2015

Saturday Interview
Saturday Interview

Kevin Curtin, March 20, 2015

More by Darcie Stevens
Phases & Stages
Yeah Yeah Yeahs
It's Blitz! (Record Review)

April 3, 2009

Spotlight: The Wooden Birds
Spotlight: The Wooden Birds
9pm, the Parish

March 20, 2009

MORE IN THE ARCHIVES
NEWSLETTERS
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

New recipes and food news delivered Mondays

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle