Shawn McMillen, Bobby Baker Diaper, The Black Angels, Ben Wallers, and This Will Destroy You


Texas Platters

When members of bands do a solo album, the result is often disastrous, the result of trying to "grow" and "find yourself." Shawn McMillen and Bobby Baker of local band Rubble have both recently put out "solo" albums that "grow" in very different directions; what they've "found" is some weird third-eye astral plane skuzz vibes. McMillen's five-song Catfish (Emperor Jones) is a mixture of Middle Eastern-type instrumentation and lysergic strummings not unlike the rumblings of his other band, Iron Kite. Songs spread out under head-tripping warblings and feisty percussion, incorporating acoustic guitar and (according to McMillen) Indian goat bells, an old auto harp, and several Mayan percussion instruments. Baker, recording under the Baby Robots name, went the tribute route, recording his tweaked version of Pink Floyd's Piper at the Gates of Dawn. Diaper Until the Shame Is Gone takes the Floyd's 1967 acid mother and throws it down the stairs, tumbling over the underwater sounds of "My Dildo Mother" to the charred remains of "Intercourse Drive." Favorite alternate Floyd title: "Take My Stethoscope and Cry." The Black Angels four-song self-titled EP hitchhikes back to 1968, a time of incense and peppermints and weed and war. In fact, the local quintet's whole EP focuses around the Vietnam War, the sound devastating and droning. Organs whip like helicopter blades and guitars rip like a bad moon rising. On the lighter side, Rebel Country Teasers frontman Ben Wallers, aka the Rebel, continues his band's jagged tradition of oddball lyrics and lo-fi psych twang on his latest home recording project, The Rocket Breaks Down (Pecan Crazy). Piano interludes collide with Waller's perennially languid vocals ("I don't give a flying fuck about writing songs anymore") as he clangs, twangs, and rifles through the basement looking for stuff to pawn. It's not always perfect, but it's fun. San Antonio's This Will Destroy You believes quiet is the new loud, and on their new EP Young Mountain ("six songs, thirty-six minutes") simple melodies twist into beautiful dirges that crackle and fall away. Songs like "Quiet" and "I Believe in Your Victory" blast from underground with peals of Yume Bitsu-inspired laughter. It may not destroy you, but it'll definitely disable your speakers.

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

More Music Reviews
Texas Platters
Spray Paint
Into the Country (Record Review)

Raoul Hernandez, Dec. 13, 2019

Texas Platters
Graham Reynolds
Marfa: A Country & Western Big Band Suite (Record Review)

Rick Weaver, Nov. 22, 2019

More by Audra Schroeder
SXSW Interactive Conference Quick Cuts
The Signal & the Noise
Statistician Nate Silver on more data, more problems

March 15, 2013

SXSW Film Reviews: 'Kiss of the Damned'
Daily Reviews and Interviews

March 15, 2013


Baby Robots, Rubble, Iron Kite, The Black Angels

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle