John Scofield

Works for Me (Verve)

Record Reviews

John Scofield

Works for Me (Verve)

Considering the participants on this date, alto saxman Kenny Garrett, pianist Brad Meldau, bassist Christian McBride, and drummer Billy Higgins -- all but Meldau considered hard-driving musicians -- this is a surprisingly laid-back and relaxed date. Leader John Scofield, among jazz's premier fusion guitarists, wrote all of the compositions, which are infectious. Especially attractive is the spare "Mrs. Scofield's Waltz," and "Not You Again" is based on the chord changes of "There Will Never Be Another You." Some brisk, but not breakneck, tempos complement Scofield's broad, penetrating tone, while his improvisation is melodic and coherently structured; he takes his time, pacing himself nicely. There are times when his loping swing makes him sound like a latter-day Charlie Christian. Similarly, Garrett plays in a relatively laid-back manner. He has a thin, slicing timbre, and articulates with admirable clarity. Meldau has a bushel basket of technique, but doesn't show it off here. Instead he plays economically and for the most part lyrically. There are spots when his subtle use of dissonance is notable. McBride continues to be a pretty traditional player, but his fine chops and big tone are heard to advantage, and Higgins is masterful, always doing what's appropriate. Like 1997's A Go Go with Medeski, Martin and Wood, and last year's Bump, Works for Me should work nicely for a wider audience.


A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

More Music Reviews
Review: Alex Coke & Carl Michel Sextet, <i>EMERGENCE</i>
Review: Alex Coke & Carl Michel Sextet, EMERGENCE
EMERGENCE (Record Review)

Michael Toland, May 12, 2023

Fall Platters
Jeff Lofton
Jericho (Record Review)

Michael Toland, Nov. 29, 2019

More by Harvey Pekar
Hey, Emily
Hey, Emily

Aug. 8, 2008

Better Git It in Your Soul
Better Git It in Your Soul
Charles Mingus Among Us

June 16, 2006

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle