Premium Burn


Individual Category

Red Sauce

First Place: John Unger

Second Place: Brent E. Kirby

Third Place: Dennis Willms

Green Sauce

First Place: Cinnamon C. Nemec

Second Place: Pamela Wells

Third Place: Brian S. Morrison

Special Variety

First Place: Jacob Grimes

Second Place: Devin Garza

Third Place: J.W. Grosik

Restaraunt Category

Red Sauce

First Place: Curra's Grill

Second Place: Iguana Grill

Third Place: Trudy's

Green Sauce

First Place: Trudy's

Second Place: Trudy's

Third Place: Trudy's

Special Variety

First Place: Flamingo Cantina

Second Place: Iguana Grill

Third Place: Habanero's Grill of San Antonio

People's Choice Awards

Commercial Bottlers

Red Sauce

First Place: Ana's Unlimited Ana's Salsa

Second Place: Texas Texas Salsa

Third Place: Smoky Hill Salsa — Hot

Green Sauce

First Place: Smoky Hill Verde Sauce

Second Place: Sgt. Pepper's Tomatillo Chipotle

Third Place: Rio Diablo Mesquite Smoked
Jalapeño Verde Sauce

Special Variety

First Place: Texas Heat Ranch Peaches &
Scream (Odessa)

Second Place: Smoky Hill Barbecue Salsa

Third Place: Jimmy O's Peach & Pepper

Pepper Sauce

First Place: ATA International Hot Paradise

Second Place: Aztexan Pepper Company
Habanero Supreme

Third Place: Texas Heat Ranch Genetic Mutation

Honorable Mentions
(in order of scoring)

Individual Category

Red Sauce
Ty Savell (Round Rock), Rod Figueroa, Luisa Hernandez, Betty Salgado, Larry Blanton (Houston), Mary Cochran (San Antonio), Monica Coates, Benilde Rocha, Brian S. Morrison, Debbie Reiter, Nolberto Farias, Jr, Pamela Feles (Cedar Park), Debbie Westbrook, Sulay Jhaveri, John Woolsey

Green Sauce
Marvin Perez

Special Variety
Jaime Guerrero, Simone Talma, Simone Talma (for a separate salsa), Mike Whitson, Kelly Robinson, Clare Kachmar

Restaurant Category

Red Sauce

Green Sauce
Botanitas, The Yellow Rose

Special Variety
3M Dining, Serrano's

Celebrity Judges

Above (l-r): Bruce Auden, David Garrido, Stephan Pyles, Miguel Ravago, Roberto Santibañez, Grady Spears, Robb Walsh

photograph by John Anderson

Preliminary Judges

Carlos Contreras, Henry Alvarado, Fred Alvarado, Dave Walsh, Jim Shahin, Marion Winik, Joe Nick Patoski, Meredith Phillips, Pableaux Johnson

Sign up for the Chronicle Cooking newsletter

New recipes and food news delivered Mondays

If you want to submit a recipe, send it to

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for almost 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

New recipes and food news delivered Mondays

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle