Sorry, Wrong Number

1948, NR, 89 min. Directed by Anatole Litvak. Starring Barbara Stanwyck, Burt Lancaster, Ann Richards, Wendell Corey, Ed Begley, Leif Erickson, William Conrad.

REVIEWED By Marjorie Baumgarten, Thu., June 8, 2000

In this taut thriller, Barbara Stanwyck plays a woman who overhears a phone conversation about a murder that’s about to be committed. Then she discovers that she’s the intended victim.

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for almost 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

More Barbara Stanwyck Films
Ball of Fire
Barbara Stanwyck is a streetwise nightclub singer/dancer who, on the run from gangsters, ends up hiding out in the home of eight uptight, very proper ...

Louis Black, Dec. 30, 2005

The Lady Eve
Preston Sturges' delirious humor sets up Henry Fonda's wealthy dope to be taken by Barbara Stanwyck's seductive con artistry. ...

Marjorie Baumgarten, June 30, 1999

More by Marjorie Baumgarten
Where’d You Go, Bernadette
Cate Blanchett steals away with what’s left of her dreams in Linklater’s coming-of-middle-age comedy

Aug. 16, 2019

David Crosby: Remember My Name
The most hated man in folk rock on his career in bridge-burning

Aug. 16, 2019


Sorry, Wrong Number, Anatole Litvak, Barbara Stanwyck, Burt Lancaster, Ann Richards, Wendell Corey, Ed Begley, Leif Erickson, William Conrad

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Updates for SXSW 2019

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Time to vote! Best of Austin 2019 balloting is underway   VOTE NOW