The Austin Chronicle

SXSW Announces 2023 Film Grand Jury Award Winners

By Richard Whittaker, March 14, 2023, 10:42pm, Picture in Picture

What's a film festival without an awards ceremony? As South by Southwest Film & TV Festival reached its midpoint, it was time for the grand jury awards and the special awards. So, with no further ado, here are the winners …

Feature Jury Awards

Narrative Feature Presented by Panavision
Winner: Raging Grace (D: Paris Zarcilla)
Special Jury Award for Performance: Courtney Eaton
Special Jury Award for Cinematography: Eric Branco, Story Ave

Documentary Film Presented by ACE91
Winner: Angel Applicant (D: Ken August Meyer)
Special Jury Award for Innovation in Storytelling: Another Body (D: Sophie Compton)

Short Film Grand Jury Awards Presented by IMDbPro

Narrative Short Film
Winner: “It Turns Blue” (D: Shadi Karamroudi)
Special Jury Award: “Flores del Otro Patio” (D: Jorge Cadena)

Documentary Short Film
Winner: “Nǎi Nai & Wài Pó” (“Grandma & Grandma”) (D: Sean Wang)
Special Jury Award: “Suddenly TV” (D: Roopa Gogineni)

Midnight Shorts
Winner: “The Flute” (D: Nick Roney)
Special Jury Award: “Pennies From Heaven” (D: Sandy Honig)

Animated Shorts
Winner: “The Debutante” (D: Elizabeth Hobbs)
Special Jury Award for Animation Directing: Tom CJ Brown, “Christopher at Sea”

Music Videos
Winner: Amanda Sum, “Different Than Before” (D: Mayumi Yoshida)
Special Jury Award: Residente, “This Is Not America” ft. Ibeyi (D: Grégory Ohrel)

Texas Shorts
Winner: “Breaking Silence” (D: Amy Bench, Annie Silverstein)
Special Jury Award: “When You Left Me on That Boulevard” (D: Kayla Abuda Galang)

TV Pilot
Winner: Grown (D: Jocko Sims)
Special Jury Award for Outstanding Performance: Josh Fadem, Harbor Island

Poster Design
Winner: Eyestring (Designer: Javier Devitt)
Special Jury Award: Riders on the Storm (Designer: Casey Moore)

XR Experience Competition
Winner: “Consensus Gentium” (D: Karen Palmer)
Special Jury Award: “Body of Mine” (D: Cameron Kostopoulos)

SXSW Special Awards

Janet Pierson Champion Award
Winner: Lizzie Shapiro (Story Ave, Parachute)

Louis Black “Lone Star” Award
Winner: The Lady Bird Diaries (D: Dawn Porter)
Special Jury Award: The Herricanes (D: Olivia Kuan)

Thunderbird Rising Award Presented by Thunderbird Pictures
Winner: Paris Zarcilla, Raging Grace
Thunderbird Rising Special Award: Brittany Snow, Parachute

The Hope Award
Winner: Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie (D: Davis Guggenheim)
The Hope Special Award: Confessions of a Good Samaritan (D: Penny Lane)

Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award
Presented to: Chronicles of a Wandering Saint (D: Tomas Gomez Bustillo)

ZEISS Cinematography Award
Winner: Fancy Dance (Cinematographer: Carolina Costa, AMC)

Copyright © 2023 Austin Chronicle Corporation. All rights reserved.