The Austin Chronicle

Kathy Bates, Marc Maron, and More Confirmed for Texas Film Hall of Fame Ceremony

By Richard Whittaker, February 14, 2019, 2:15pm, Picture in Picture

The Texas Film Hall of Fame Awards are Austin’s most star-studded evening for cinema, and it’s sparkling a little bright today with the announcement that Oscar-winner Kathy Bates and the cast of Office Space will be on hand, while the night will be hosted by filmmaker Lynn Shelton and comedian/actor Marc Maron.

The ceremony (March 7 at the AFS Cinema) already had its honorees lined up, with writer/director John Lee Hancock going into the hall of fame; Office Space adding the Star of Texas award to its trophy cabinet in honor of its 20th anniversary; and Brooklyn Decker taking home the Rising Star award.

Now we know who’ll be handing over the awards, and wrangling the whole night.

• Bates, who has worked with Hancock on both football drama The Blind Side and his SXSW 2019 title The Highwaymen, will attend to induct her old friend onto a list of previous HOFers that includes Richard Linklater, Carol Burnett, Renée Zellweger, Rip Torn, and many more Lone Star State notables.

• Continuing the SXSW connection, actress, comedian, screenwriter, and producer June Diane Raphael (who stars in Seth Rogen/Charlize Theron film Long Shot, which will also screen at the festival) will present Decker with her award.

• Actors Ron Livingston (aka Office Space’s beleaguered cubicle dweller Peter), David Herman (the real Michael Bolton), and Gary Cole (the nightmarish middle manager Bill Lumbergh) will be with director Mike Judge when their seminal and prescient comedy gets its metaphorical red stapler.

• And top and tailing the night, Maron and Shelton, who also will be sticking around for SXSW and the world premiere of their laconic new comedy Sword of Trust, will emcee the whole affair.

The Texas Film Hall of Fame award ceremony takes place March 7 at the AFS Cinema. Tickets are available now at, and proceeds go to support the work of Austin Film Society, a 501(c)3 dedicated to building Austin's filmmaking and filmwatching culture.

Copyright © 2021 Austin Chronicle Corporation. All rights reserved.