Kathy Bates, Marc Maron, and More Confirmed for Texas Film Hall of Fame Ceremony

We know the winners, now who'll be running the show?

Kathy Bates, Gary Cole, and June Diane Raphael, all confirmed as guests for this year's Texas Film Hall of Fame award ceremony.

The Texas Film Hall of Fame Awards are Austin’s most star-studded evening for cinema, and it’s sparkling a little bright today with the announcement that Oscar-winner Kathy Bates and the cast of Office Space will be on hand, while the night will be hosted by filmmaker Lynn Shelton and comedian/actor Marc Maron.

The ceremony (March 7 at the AFS Cinema) already had its honorees lined up, with writer/director John Lee Hancock going into the hall of fame; Office Space adding the Star of Texas award to its trophy cabinet in honor of its 20th anniversary; and Brooklyn Decker taking home the Rising Star award.

Now we know who’ll be handing over the awards, and wrangling the whole night.

• Bates, who has worked with Hancock on both football drama The Blind Side and his SXSW 2019 title The Highwaymen, will attend to induct her old friend onto a list of previous HOFers that includes Richard Linklater, Carol Burnett, Renée Zellweger, Rip Torn, and many more Lone Star State notables.

• Continuing the SXSW connection, actress, comedian, screenwriter, and producer June Diane Raphael (who stars in Seth Rogen/Charlize Theron film Long Shot, which will also screen at the festival) will present Decker with her award.

• Actors Ron Livingston (aka Office Space’s beleaguered cubicle dweller Peter), David Herman (the real Michael Bolton), and Gary Cole (the nightmarish middle manager Bill Lumbergh) will be with director Mike Judge when their seminal and prescient comedy gets its metaphorical red stapler.

• And top and tailing the night, Maron and Shelton, who also will be sticking around for SXSW and the world premiere of their laconic new comedy Sword of Trust, will emcee the whole affair.

The Texas Film Hall of Fame award ceremony takes place March 7 at the AFS Cinema. Tickets are available now at www.austinfilm.org, and proceeds go to support the work of Austin Film Society, a 501(c)3 dedicated to building Austin's filmmaking and filmwatching culture.

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

Austin Institution Saxon Pub Survives in SXSW Documentary
Austin Institution Saxon Pub Survives in SXSW Documentary
A glimmer of hope amid Austin development in Nothing Stays the Same: The Story of the Saxon Pub

Doug Freeman, March 8, 2019

John Krasinski and Emily Blunt on Their New Horror <i>A Quiet Place</i>
Visiting A Quiet Place
The filmmaking power couple on fighting monsters and real intimacy

Richard Whittaker, April 6, 2018

More by Richard Whittaker
Fantastic Fest Review: <i>Stopmotion</i>
The artist subsumed by her art in chilling increments

Sept. 28, 2023

Fantastic Fest Review: <i>Saw X</i>
Saw X
Least-secret secret screening still has some twists

Sept. 28, 2023


Texas Film Hall of Fame, SXSW Film 2018, AFS Cinema, Office Space, Gary Cole, Kathy Bates, Marc Maron, Lynn Shelton, Ron Livingston, David Herman, June Diane Raphael

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle