The Austin Chronicle

Norman Lear to Receive AFF Award

By Marjorie Baumgarten, April 9, 2015, 9:05am, Picture in Picture

It’s never too early to begin the announcements. The Austin Film Festival, which takes place October 29-November 5, has just announced Norman Lear, producer of the groundbreaking show All in the Family, as the 2015 recipient of the Outstanding Television Writer Award.

All in the Family, which first aired on January 12, 1971, ran for nine seasons, and earned Lear four Emmy Awards, as well as a Peabody Award in 1977. All in the Family was followed by a succession of other television hit shows including Maude, Sanford and Son, Good Times, The Jeffersons, One Day at a Time, and Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman.

Lear joins today's other announced panelists confirmed to speak at the 22nd Annual Austin Film Festival & Screenwriters Conference, including:

Andrea Berloff, writer World Trade Center
Shane Black, writer/director Iron Man 3, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang; writer Lethal Weapon, Last Action Hero
Michael Botti, manager at Industry Entertainment
VJ Boyd, writer/producer Justified
Jack Burditt, creator Last Man Standing; writer/executive producer The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, The Mindy Project, 30 Rock; writer/co-producer Fraiser
Katie Dippold, writer The Heat, Parks and Recreation, MADtv
Seth Grahame-Smith, writer Dark Shadows, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Matthew Gross, president, EuropaCorp TV Studios; producer Sons of Liberty, Body of Proof, Across the Universe
James V. Hart, writer Hook, Bram Stoker’s Dracula, Contact, Muppet Treasure Island, August Rush, Epic
Jason Headley, writer/director It's Not About the Nail, At the Bar, To Say Goodbye
Barry Josephson, Josephson Entertainment; producer Enchanted, Hide and Seek, The Last Boy Scout, Someone Marry Barry; executive producer Turn, Bones
Aaron Kaplan, manager at Kapital Entertainment, Kaplan/Perrone Entertainment
Casper Kelly, creator/writer/director Too Many Cooks, Your Pretty Face Is Going to Hell; writer Squidbillies
Todd Kessler, co-creator Bloodline
Craig Kestel, agent at WME Entertainment
Adam Kolbrenner, co-founder Madhouse Entertainment
Gary Lennon, producer Black Box, Orange Is the New Black, Justified, The Shield
David Lowery, writer/director Ain't Them Bodies Saints, Pioneer, Pete's Dragon (2016), writer Pit Stop
Jenny Lumet, writer Rachel Getting Married
Maggie Malone, head of Creative Affairs at Disney Animation Studios
Kelly Marcel, writer Saving Mr. Banks, Fifty Shades of Grey; writer/executive producer Terra Nova
George Pelecanos, writer/producer Treme, The Pacific, The Wire
Nicole Perlman, writer Guardians of the Galaxy
Chris Provenzano, co-executive producer/writer Justified; writer Mad Men
Pamela Ribon, writer at Walt Disney Animation Studios; writer Romantically Challenged, Samantha Who?
Phil Rosenthal, creator Everybody Loves Raymond; writer/director Exporting Raymond
Terry Rossio, writer Shrek, Aladdin, The Pirates of the Caribbean franchise, The Mask of Zorro
John Swetnam, writer Step Up: All In, Evidence, Into the Storm, Breaking Through
David Wain, creator Stella, Wainy Days; writer/director Wet Hot American Summer; director Role Models
Ron Yerxa, producer Bona Fide Productions, Nebraska, Little Miss Sunshine, Ruby Sparks, Election, Cold Mountain, The Ice Harvest, executive producer The Leftovers

Copyright © 2022 Austin Chronicle Corporation. All rights reserved.