AFF Announces Award Winners

Narrative feature jury award goes to The Kings Surrender

At Saturday's awards luncheon, the Austin Film Festival celebrated the best of the fest in both its film and screenplay competitions. AFF also honored this year's three lifetime achievement award recipients, Matthew Weiner, Edward Zwick, and Jim Sheridan.

Jim Sheridan (Distinguished Screenwriter Award), Matthew Weiner (Outstanding Television Writer Award), and Edward Zwick (Extraordinary Contribution to Filmmaking Award) (photo by Andrea Turner)

Other honorees included:

Narrative Feature Jury Award: The Kings Surrender (D: Philipp Leinemann)

Documentary Feature Jury Award: Once Upon a Crime: The Borelli-Davis Conspiracy (D: Sheldon Wilson)

Inaugural Comedy Vanguard Feature Jury Award: Jimmy Vestvood: Amerikan Hero (D: Jonathan Kesselman)

Young Filmmakers Program Competition Grand Prize: “Special Is Just a Word” (D: Abby Thompson)

Narrative Student Short Jury Prize: “Luke” (D: Conor Hamill)

Documentary Shorts Jury Award: “The Next Part” (D: Erin Sanger)

Animated Short Award: “Between Times” (D: Ru Kuwahata and Max Porter)

Narrative Short Jury Award: “Skunk” (D: Annie Silverstein)

One Eyed Girl

Dark Matters Feature Jury Award: One Eyed Girl (D: Nick Matthews)

Narrative Feature Honorable Mention: Skin Deep (D: Monica Zanetti)

Drama Screenplay Award: Dead River Girl by Morris Long

Comedy Screenplay Award: Three Months by Jared Frieder

Enderby Entertainment Award: Suicide Boy by Laura Hainke

Fade To Black Award: I Fucked James Bond by Josh Hallman

Darkwoods Productions Horror Award: The 700 Year Itch by Molly Stein & Moon Unit Zappa

Darkwoods Productions Sci-fi Award: The Incomparable Donald Strange by Zach Cannon & James Fant

AMC One-Hour Teleplay Pilot: Ascension by Wes Brown

Sitcom Teleplay Pilot: Great Points Park by Danny Sullivan

One-Hour Teleplay Spec: The Americans: "Barium Meals" by Adam Turner

Sitcom Teleplay Spec: Bob's Burger: "Mr. Whiskers" by Damir Konjicija & Dario Konjicija

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

More Austin Film Festival
Austin Film Festival Announces Second Wave of Programming
AFF Announces Second Wave
Local voices are spotlighted in the new round of eight fest films

Katherine McNevins, Sept. 9, 2021

Gary Hart Biopic <i>The Front Runner</i> to Close Austin Film Festival
AFF Announces Second Wave
New films by Yorgos Lanthimos, Asghar Farhadi added to fest

Richard Whittaker, Sept. 12, 2018

More by Kimberley Jones
We Have an Issue: Last Week to Vote in the Austin Music Poll (Plus Some Exciting News About the Austin Music Awards)
We Have an Issue: Last Week to Vote in the Austin Music Poll (Plus Some Exciting News About the Austin Music Awards)
Tickets are now on sale, and a pretty stellar performer lineup is announced

Jan. 27, 2023

Turn Every Page – The Adventures of Robert Caro and Robert Gottlieb
The 50-year relationship between a legendary writer and his editor

Jan. 27, 2023


Austin Film Festival, Austin Film Festival 2014

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Behind the scenes at The Austin Chronicle

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle