SXSW Film Awards Announced

The envelope, please

Why so glum, Tiny Furniture? You totally won big.
Why so glum, Tiny Furniture? You totally won big.

Eugene Mirman hosted the SXSW Film Awards tonight. After the jump, find out who went home happy …


Documentary Feature
Winner: Marwencol (D: Jeff Malmberg) Runner-up: War Don Don (D: Rebecca Richman Cohen)

Narrative Feature
Winner: Tiny Furniture (D: Lena Durham)
Special Jury Award for Best Ensemble: Myth of the American Sleepover
Special Jury Award for Best Individual Performance: Brian Hasenfus in Phillip the Fossil

Narrative Shorts
Winner: “Cigarette Candy” (D: Lauren Wolkstein)
Runner-up: “Teleglobal Dreamin’” (D: Eric Flanagan

Documentary Shorts
Winner: “Quadrangle” (D: Amy Grappell)
Runner-up: “White Lines and the Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug” (D: Travis Senger)

Animated Shorts
Winner: “The Orange” (D: Nick Fox-Gieg)
Runner-up: “One Square Mile of Earth” (D: Jeff Drew)

Experimental Shorts
Winner: “Night Mayor” (D: Guy Maddin)
Runner-up: “Kids Might Fly” (D: Alex Taylor)

Music Videos
Winner: Cinnamon Chasers, “Luv Deluxe” (D: Saman Keshavarz
Runner-up: Grizzly Baer, “Forest” (D: Alison Schulnik)

Texas Shorts
Winner: “Petting Sharks” (D: Craig Elrod)
Runner-up: “The Big Bends” (D: Jason William Marlow)

Time Warner Cable & Ovation Young Filmmaker Scholarship for Texas High School Short
Winner: “Give the Dog a Bone” (D: Edward Kelley)
Runner-up: “The Sleep Project” (D: Whitney Bennett & Matthew Cunningham)


Documentary Feature
Winner: For Once in My Life (D: Jim Bigham & Mark Moormann)
Narrative Feature
Winner: Brotherhood (D: Will Cannon)


Excellence in Poster Design
Winner: Feeder (Designer: Joseph Ernst)
Runner-up: Amer (Designer: Gilles Vranckx)
Audience Award Winner: Richard Garriott: Man on a Mission (Designer: Michael Anderson)
Special Jury Award: Equestrian Sexual Response (Designers: Martim Vian & Zeke Hawkins)

Excellence in Title Design
Winner: Zombieland (Designer: Ben Conrad)
Runner-Up: earthwork (Designer: Stan Herd)
Audience Award Winner: earthwork (Designer: Stan Herd)
Special Jury Award: Enter the Void (Desingers: Gaspar Noé and Tom Karm)


SXSW Wholphin Award
Winner: “Quadrangle” (D: Amy Grappell)

SXSW Chicken & Egg Emergent Narrative Woman Director Award
Winner: Lena Durham for Tiny Furniture
Special Award – The Chicken & Egg Pictures “We Believe in You” Award: Martha Stephens for Passenger Pigeons

JURORS Narrative Feature Competition: Peter Debruge, Karen Durbin, Joshua Leonard; Documentary Feature Competition: Nelson George, Karina Longworth, Thom Powers; Narrative Shorts: Amy Dotson, Christian Gaines, Todd Luoto; Documentary Shorts: Don R. Lewis, Ron Mann, Finlay Pretsell; Experimental Shorts: Spencer Parsons, Esther Robinson, Kelly Sears; Animated Shorts: Emily Hubley, Mark Elijah Rosenberg, Nathan Zellner; Music Videos: Margaret Brown, Philip Harder, James Kochalka; Texas Shorts: Christopher Holland, Chris Mass, Anne Walker-McBay; Texas High School Shorts: Marcy Garriott, Delicia Harvey, Bart Weiss; Title Design: Ian Albinson, Alexander Ulloa, Susan Bradley, Karin Fong, Ron Pippin, Remko Vlaanderen.

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

SXSW Announces Audience Award Winners
SXSW Announces Audience Award Winners
Patton Oswalt's I Move My Dad takes top honors again

Richard Whittaker, March 24, 2022

SXSW Announces Grand Jury Award Winners
SXSW Announces Grand Jury Award Winners
Austinite Iliana Sosa wins twice for What We Leave Behind

Richard Whittaker, March 16, 2022

More by Kimberley Jones
Austin FC Season Kickoff, Black History Month, and More Community Events
Austin FC Season Kickoff, Black History Month, and More Community Events
Get out and about in Austin while the weather's good

Feb. 23, 2024

The Austin Film Society Is Hosting a Conversation With Don Hertzfeldt and Mike Judge
The Austin Film Society Is Hosting a Conversation With Don Hertzfeldt and Mike Judge
Hertzfeldt will present his new short film "Me"

Feb. 15, 2024


SXSW Film, SXSW, SXSW Film Awards, Marwencol, Jeff Malmberg, War Don Don, Rebecca Richman Cohen, Tiny Furniture, Lena Durham, Myth of the American Sleepover, Brian Hasenfus, Phillip the Fossil, Cigarette Candy, Lauren Wolkstein, Teleglobal Dreamin’, Eugene Mirman

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle