AFCA Announces 2009 Awards

The Austin Film Critics Association hands 'Hurt Locker' top honors

Top Dog The Hurt Locker
Top Dog The Hurt Locker

J.J. Abrams' relaunched Star Trek came in second place in the Austin Film Critics Association best movies of the year poll (announced today), thus narrowly avoiding the rumored resignation of more than one member**. Instead, top honors went to Kathryn Bigelow's The Hurt Locker, which continues its domination of year-end awards.

The awards go to...

Best Film: The Hurt Locker
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker
Best Actor: Colin Firth, A Single Man
Best Actress: Mélanie Laurent, Inglourious Basterds
Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds
Best Supporting Actress: Anna Kendrick, Up in the Air
Best Original Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino, Inglourious Basterds
Best Adapted Screenplay: Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner, Up in the Air
Best Cinematography: Barry Ackroyd, The Hurt Locker
Best Original Score: Michael Giacchino, Up
Best Foreign Language Film: Sin Nombre
Best Documentary: Anvil! The Story of Anvil
Best Animated Feature: Up
Best First Film: Neill Blomkamp, District 9
Breakthrough Artist Award: Christian McKay, Me and Orson Welles
Austin Film Award: Me and Orson Welles

Top 10 Films:
1) The Hurt Locker
2) Star Trek
3) Up
4) A Serious Man
5) Up in the Air
6) Avatar
7) Inglourious Basterds
8) District 9
9) Where the Wild Things Are
10) (Tie) Moon, The Messenger

Top 10 Films of the Decade:
1) Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
2) There Will Be Blood
3) The Lord of the Rings
4) The Dark Knight
5) Requiem for a Dream
6) Kill Bill
7) No Country for Old Men
8) The Incredibles
9) Children of Men
10) (Tie) Memento, The Departed

For more info on the Austin Film Critics association, visit And check out the Jan. 1 issue for The Austin Chronicle's top ten lists.

** Yours truly included, although, admittedly, muttering it privately under your breath doesn't quite have the same force as a publicly threatened walkout.

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for almost 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

More Austin Film Critics Association
AFCA Announces Local Film Short List
AFCA Announces Local Film Short List
Five Austin films in contention for the annual award

Richard Whittaker, Dec. 11, 2018

<i>Get Out</i> Wins Austin Critics Top Prize
AFCA Calls Get Out Best Film
The Shape of Water, Timothée Chalamet get nods

Richard Whittaker, Jan. 8, 2018

<i>Mad Max: Fury Road</i> Tops Austin Film Critics Association Awards
Mad Max Tops Austin Critics Awards
Full list of winners, plus who made the best Austin film?

Richard Whittaker, Dec. 29, 2015

Austin Critics Announce Award Nominees
Austin Critics Announce Award Nominees
Carol leads nominations with seven nods

Richard Whittaker, Dec. 16, 2015

More by Kimberley Jones
Gloria Bell
Julianne Moore excels (as always) in this funny, poignant character study

March 22, 2019

Trump’s Twitter Library, a Ferris Wheel of Cheese, and More From the Wide, Weird World of SXSW
Trump’s Twitter Library, a Ferris Wheel of Cheese, and More From the Wide, Weird World of SXSW
Festival-adjacent events abound!

March 8, 2019


Austin Film Critics Association, AFCA, The Hurt Locker, Star Trek, Kathryn Bigelow, J.J. Abrams

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Updates for SXSW 2019

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle