SXSW Film Award Winners

And the winners are...

They're just wrapping things up at the SXSW Film Awards Ceremony, which means the embargo's lifted and it's time for us to drop some knowledge. See winners after the jump.

Be sure to check out the Chronicle’s daily issues (March 13-15) for reviews and interviews with Festival award winners. And, of course, keep checking here for continuing coverage of the film fest.


Reel Shorts
Winner: (tie) “Warlord” (D: David Garrett); “Small Apartment” (D: Andrew T. Betzer)
Special Jury Award: “The Second Line” D: John Magary

Animated Shorts
Winner: “Madame Tutli-Putli” (D: Chris Lavis & Maciek Szczerbowski)
Special Jury Award: “I hate you don’t touch me, or Bat and Hat” (D: Becky James)

Experimental Shorts
Winner: “Safari” (D: Catherine Chalmers)
Special Jury Award: “Upwards March” (D: Kaveh Nabatian)

SXSW Wholphin Award
Winner: “Glory at Sea” (D: Benjamin Zeitlin)

Music Videos
Winner: TV on the Radio, “Me-I” (D: Mixtape Club & Daniel Garcia)
Special Jury Award: (tie) Group Sounds, “Temporarily in Love” (D: Randy Scott Slavin); Cornelius, “Fit Song” (D: Keigo Oyamada & Koichiro Tsujikawa)

Texas High School Competition
Winner: “Picnic” (D: Wesley Bronez)
Special Jury Award: “Inflections” (D: Matthew Campbell)

ON Networks Greenlight Award
Best Original Production: The Guild (D: Jane Selle Morgan)
Best Original Series Idea: Knock Off (W: Brandi-Ann Milbradt)

Documentary Feature
Grand Jury Award: They Killed Sister Dorothy (D: Daniel Junge)
Special Jury Award: Full Battle Rattle (D: Tony Gerber & Jesse Moss)

Narrative Feature
Grand Jury Award: Wellness (D: Jake Mahaffy)
Special Jury Award for Cinematography: Explicit Ills (D: Mark Webber)
Special Jury Award for Best Ensemble Cast: Up With Me (D: Greg Takoudes)


Emerging Visions
Winner: In a Dream (D: Jeremiah Zagar)

Documentary Feature
Winner: They Killed Sister Dorothy (D: Daniel Junge)

Narrative Feature
Winner: Explicit Ills (D: Mark Webber)

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

SXSW Announces Audience Award Winners
SXSW Announces Audience Award Winners
Patton Oswalt's I Move My Dad takes top honors again

Richard Whittaker, March 24, 2022

SXSW Announces Grand Jury Award Winners
SXSW Announces Grand Jury Award Winners
Austinite Iliana Sosa wins twice for What We Leave Behind

Richard Whittaker, March 16, 2022

More by Kimberley Jones
Abya Yala: The Story Behind the Photos
Abya Yala: The Story Behind the Photos

Sept. 29, 2023

Fair Play
Office romance and intrigue intersect for tension with little weight

Sept. 29, 2023


SXSW, SXSW Film Awards

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle