The Austin Chronicle

Quick Election Round-Up: Local

By Lee Nichols, March 2, 2010, 11:37pm, Newsdesk

Here’s tonight’s local election highlights in the party primaries. We’ll start with Democratic results, since that’s the dominant party in Travis County. All results are with 100% of the vote counted.

• 201st District Court Judge incumbent Jan Patterson paid hard for pissing off the county’s Democratic establishment (look up our previous coverage). She took only 32% of the vote, falling hard to young challenger Amy Clark Meachum.

• Pct. 4 County Commissioner Margaret Gomez fended off a challenge from former Austin City Council Member Raul Alvarez surprisingly easily with 53%.

• In the 299th District Court, Mindy Montford (45%) and Karen Sage (37%) emerged from a four-way field and are headed for a run-off.

• Former Travis County District Attorney Ronnie Earle is losing badly in his bid for lieutenant governor, but he won big here, with 68%.

• 147th District Court: Cliff Brown (71%) over Bill Gammon.

• 331st District Court: David Crain (78%) over Keith Lauerman.

• County Court at Law No.3: John Lipscombe (53%) over Olga Seelig.

• Justice of the Peace, Pct. 4: Yvonne Williams (72%) over Daniel Bradford.

• JP, Pct. 2: Karin Crump (76%) over Fidel Acevedo.

• JP, Pct. 5: Herb Evans (74%) over Richard Glasheen.

On the GOP side:

• As expected, Congressmen Michael McCaul and Lamar Smith easily swatted their challengers. Ditto for John Carter in Williamson County. In Dist. 25, Donna Campbell (71%) won the right to challenge the likely unbeatable Democratic incumbent, Lloyd Doggett, over George Morovich.

• In the battle to challenge Democratic Dist. 47 state Rep. Valinda Bolton, there will be a runoff between Holly Turner (36%) and Paul D. Workman (39%).

• In House Dist. 50, Patrick McGuiness (60%) beat out Ryan Lambert and will face incumbent Dem Mark Strama.

• Debra Medina did even better in her gubernatorial bid here (22%) than statewide (18%).

• SBOE Dist. 5 challenger Tim Tuggey surprisingly did no better here than throughout the district as a whole, as archconservative incumbent Ken Mercer won in a landslide.

• In SBOE Dist. 10, Brian Russell – seen as the fundamentalist candidate – did even better here (40%) than districtwide (35%).

• JP, Pct. 3: Mike Barre (52% over Madeleine Connor) will face incumbent Susan Steeg.

Copyright © 2022 Austin Chronicle Corporation. All rights reserved.