Election Update, 12/29/09

Only two business days lefts to file

Naishtat: Last Democratic lege filer for Travis
Naishtat: Last Democratic lege filer for Travis (Photo by John Anderson)

The die is so very nearly cast in the 2010 primaries. Filing closes shortly, so the list of contested primaries is looking close to being set.

On the local level, there have been few surprises and few filings in the last week. Rep. Elliott Naishtat, D-Austin, became the final member of the Travis County legislative delegation to file for re-election, while Georgetown education consultant and property investor Marsha Farney became the third Republican to file for State Board of Education Place 10.

Now the waiting game is on to see when (and, to a lesser degree, whether) announced candidates like House District 48 Republican Glenn Bass and Democratic district court hopeful Amy Clark Meachum get their paperwork in before the Jan. 4 deadline.

So who has filed for what so far in Travis? (* denotes incumbent)


Senate District 14 Kirk Watson* (D)
House District 46 Dawnna Dukes* (D)
House District 47 (DEM) Valinda Bolton* (D)
House District 47 (GOP) Holly White Turner (R) Paul Workman (R)
House District 48 (DEM) Donna Howard* (D)
House District 48 (GOP) Dan Neill (R)
House District 49 Elliott Naishtat* (D)
House District 50 Mark Strama* (D)
House District 51 (DEM) Eddie Rodriguez* (D)
House District 51 (GOP) Marilyn Dolores Jackson (R)

State Board of Education

Dist. 5 (DEM) Robert Bohmfalk (D) Rebecca Bell-Metereau (D) Josiah Ingalls (D) Daniel Boone (D)
Dist. 5 (GOP) Tim Tuggey (R) Ken Mercer* (R)
Dist. 10 (DEM) Judy Jennings (D)
Dist. 10 (GOP) Rebecca Osborne (R) Brian Russell (R) Marsha Farney (R)

State and District Court

Supreme Court, Place 3 Rebecca Simmons (R)
Supreme Court, Place 5 Paul Green* (R)
3rd Court of Appeals, Place 4 (DEM) Kurt Kuhn (D)
3rd Court of Appeals, Place 4 (GOP) Scott King Field (R)
147th District Judge Clifford Brown (D)
201st District Judge Jan Patterson (D)
250th District Judge John Dietz* (D)
261st District Judge Lora Livingston* (D)
299th District Judge Karen Sage (D) Leonard Martinez (D) Eve Schatelowitz Alcantar (D)
331st District Judge Keith Lauerman (D)
353rd District Judge (unexpired) (DEM) Tim Sulak (D)
353rd District Judge (unexpired) (GOP) Jeff Rose* (R)
403rd District Judge Brenda Kennedy* (D)
419th District Judge Orlinda Naranjo* (D)
District Clerk Amalia Rodriguez-Mendoza* (D)

County Court

County Judge (DEM) Sam Biscoe* (D)
County Judge (GOP) Mike McNamara (R)
Judge, County Court at Law #1 David Phillips (D)
Judge, County Court at Law #2 Eric Shepperd* (D)
Judge, County Court at Law #4 Mike Denton* (D)
Judge, County Court at Law #5 Nancy Hohengarten* (D)
Judge, County Court at Law #6 Brandy Mueller (D)
Judge, County Court at Law #7 Elizabeth Earle* (D)
Judge, County Probate Court #1 Guy Herman* (D)

Justice of the Peace

Precinct 2 Karin Crump (D)
Precinct 3 Susan Steeg* (D)
Precinct 4 Raul Arturo Gonzalez* (D)
Precinct 5 Herb Evans* (D)


County Clerk Dana DeBeauvoir* (D)
County Treasurer Dolores Ortega* (D)

County Commissioner

Place #4 Margaret Gomez* (D) Raul Alvarez (D)

County Party

Democratic Party County Chair Andy Brown* (D)
Republican Party County Chair Rosemary Edwards* (R)

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for almost 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

More Elections
The <i>Chronicle</i>'s 2018 Primary Election Coverage
The Chronicle's 2018 Primary Election Coverage
Tracking the returns for the county, courthouse, and state

the News Staff, March 6, 2018

Club Endorsements
Club Endorsements
Who's backing whom in the March primary?

Feb. 15, 2018

More Election 2010
The Definition of Voter Eligibility
The Definition of Voter Eligibility
Could Dan Neil challenge the HD48 result?

Richard Whittaker, Dec. 8, 2010

Donna Howard Still the Winner
Donna Howard Still the Winner
Dist. 48 incumbent increases lead by one vote

Lee Nichols, Nov. 8, 2010

More by Richard Whittaker
One in a Crowd: Vulcan Video Needs Your Help
One in a Crowd: Vulcan Video Needs Your Help
Keep the tapes rolling at Austin's VHS and DVD institution

May 23, 2019

RTX Orders a <i>Stuber</i>
RTX Orders a Stuber
Rooster Teeth snags special screening of the SXSW favorite

May 23, 2019


Elections, Election 2010, 2010 Primaries, Travis County, Democrats, Republicans

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Updates for SXSW 2019

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle