Election Update, 12/23/09

Guess which Travis Co. Dem drew a surprise GOP opponent?

Election Update, 12/23/09

With the Christmas holidays almost upon us, there's little surprise that the already minimal number of primary election filings in Travis County has slowed to a trickle, with only six contested positions on the ballot so far.

All the coverage and fuss over the State Board of Education has drawn an almost astonishing number of candidates – five Democrats and four Republicans – to the two seats covering Travis County. There is similar excitement in the 299th district court, where three Democrats have lined up to replace Judge Charlie Baird when he retires.

On the Republican side, the surprise news is that a GOPer is challenging Rep. Eddie Rodriguez, D-Austin. Travel consultant Marilyn Dolores Jackson filed on Tuesday, making her the first Republican to run in that seat since Democrat (and the state's first openly gay state rep) Glenn Maxey pulverized Republican Fred Ebner 73 percent to 27 percent in 1998. Since then, the GOP has abandoned any challenges to the Libertarians, who have barely scraped into double digits against the popular incumbent.

Going ultra-local, there'll definitely be a primary fight between incumbent County Commissioner Margaret Gomez and ex-Austin city council member turned Austin Community College trustee Raul Alvarez, who filed his long-promised paperwork on Dec. 21.

So who has filed for what so far in Travis? (* denotes incumbent)


Senate District 14 Kirk Watson* (D)
House District 46 Dawnna Dukes* (D)
House District 47 (DEM) Valinda Bolton* (D)
House District 47 (GOP) Holly White Turner (R) Paul Workman (R)
House District 48 (DEM) Donna Howard* (D)
House District 48 (GOP) Dan Neill (R)
House District 50 Mark Strama* (D)
House District 51 (DEM) Eddie Rodriguez* (D)
House District 51 (GOP) Marilyn Dolores Jackson (R)

State Board of Education

Dist. 5 (DEM) Robert Bohmfalk (D) Rebecca Bell-Metereau (D) Josiah Ingalls (D) Daniel Boone (D)
Dist. 5 (GOP) Tim Tuggey (R) Ken Mercer (R)
Dist. 10 (DEM) Judy Jennings (D)
Dist. 10 (GOP) Rebecca Osborne (R) Brian Russell (R)

State and District Court

Supreme Court, Place 5 Paul Green* (R)
3rd Court of Appeals, Place 4 (DEM) Kurt Kuhn (D)
3rd Court of Appeals, Place 4 (GOP) Scott Field (R)
147th District Judge Clifford Brown (D)
201st District Judge Jan Patterson (D)
250th District Judge John Dietz* (D)
261st District Judge Lora Livingston* (D)
299th District Judge Karen Sage (D) Leonard Martinez (D) Eve Schatelowitz Alcantar (D)
331st District Judge Keith Lauerman (D)
353rd District Judge (unexpired) Tim Sulak (D)
403rd District Judge Brenda Kennedy* (D)
419th District Judge Orlinda Naranjo* (D)
District Clerk Amalia Rodriguez-Mendoza* (D)

County Court

County Judge (DEM) Sam Biscoe* (D)
County Judge (GOP) Mike McNamara (R)
Judge, County Court at Law #1 David Phillips (D)
Judge, County Court at Law #2 Eric Shepperd* (D)
Judge, County Court at Law #4 Mike Denton* (D)
Judge, County Court at Law #5 Nancy Hohengarten* (D)
Judge, County Court at Law #6 Brandy Mueller (D)
Judge, County Court at Law #7 Elizabeth Earle* (D)
Judge, County Probate Court #1 Guy Herman* (D)

Justice of the Peace

Precinct 2 Karin Crump (D)
Precinct 3 Susan Steeg* (D)
Precinct 4 Raul Arturo Gonzalez* (D)
Precinct 5 Herb Evans* (D)


County Clerk Dana DeBeauvoir* (D)
County Treasurer Dolores Ortega* (D)

County Commissioner

Place #4 Margaret Gomez* (D) Raul Alvarez (D)

County Party

Democratic Party County Chair Andy Brown* (D)
Republican Party County Chair Rosemary Edwards* (R)

Got something to say on the subject? Send a letter to the editor.

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

More Elections
Round Rock (ISD) Just Don't Stop: The Affair of the Forged Letter
Round Rock (ISD) Just Don't Stop: The Affair of the Forged Letter
Election shenanigans erupt on Facebook over weekend

Brant Bingamon, Nov. 7, 2022

Early Voting Locations and Voter ID Info
Early Voting Locations and Voter ID Info
Find your nearest polling location and know what to bring with you

Oct. 14, 2019

More Election 2010
The Definition of Voter Eligibility
The Definition of Voter Eligibility
Could Dan Neil challenge the HD48 result?

Richard Whittaker, Dec. 8, 2010

Donna Howard Still the Winner
Donna Howard Still the Winner
Dist. 48 incumbent increases lead by one vote

Lee Nichols, Nov. 8, 2010

More by Richard Whittaker
Alex Garland's <i>Civil War</i> Will World Premiere at SXSW
Alex Garland's Civil War Will World Premiere at SXSW
Eagerly awaited thriller stars Kirsten Dunst, Nick Offerman

Feb. 22, 2024

Austin FC Season Kickoff, Black History Month, and More Community Events
Austin FC Season Kickoff, Black History Month, and More Community Events
Get out and about in Austin while the weather's good

Feb. 23, 2024


Elections, Election 2010, 2010 Primaries, Travis County, Eddie Rodriguez, Margaret Gomez, Raul Alvarez

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle