The Austin Chronicle

Libertarians on the November Travis County Ballot

By Lee Nichols, March 24, 2008, 10:29am, Newsdesk

For what it's worth, the Travis County Libertarian Party has nominated 12 people for the November ballot. So if the Dems and Republicans aren't doing it for you, here is one of the main alternatives. (To my knowledge, a Libertarian has never won office in Travis, although they always seem to do quite well in races where the only other choice is a Republican.) See press release after the jump.


Libertarians make 12 nominations in Travis County

AUSTIN - March 17, 2008 - At its county convention on March 15, the Travis County Libertarian Party (TCLP) nominated 12 candidates for public office.

Allen Hacker - State Representative, District 46
Alan Hultgren - State Representative, District 47
Ben Easton - State Representative, District 48
Jerry Chandler - State Representative, District 50
Arthur DiBianca - State Representative, District 51
David McDaniel - Sheriff
Mike Burris - Tax Assessor-Collector
Fancy Fairchild - County Commissioner, Precinct 1
Wes Benedict - County Commissioner, Precinct 3
Arlo J. Pignotti - Constable, Precinct 2
Joe Edgar - Constable, Precinct 3
Michael M. Holt - Constable, Precinct 5

These nominees will appear on the November ballot.

Republican nominee Don Zimmerman appeared at the convention briefly to ask the TCLP to consider withdrawing from the Tax Assessor-Collector race.

The TCLP also elected its officers. Robert "Rock" Howard was elected Chair; Gary Johnson was elected Secretary; Arthur DiBianca was elected Treasurer.

"We've got a great group of candidates, and I think we'll be very influential in this election," said Convention Chair Pat Dixon.

Copyright © 2023 Austin Chronicle Corporation. All rights reserved.