The Austin Chronicle

SXSW Music Adds New Order, Killer Mike, Protomartyr, and Isabella Lovestory

By Rachel Rascoe, January 25, 2023, 10:10am, Earache!

How does it feel? New Order leads the pack among 320 musical names announced in SXSW Music’s third lineup rollout.

The club influencers behind 1983’s “Blue Monday” return following a 2015 Texas visit to Houston’s Day For Night festival. Further SX additions, due March 13-18, include Outkast/Run the Jewels essential Killer Mike, popular Nashville feel-good alt-crafters Michigander, and D.C. rapper/actor Anwan “Big G” Glover, known for portraying Slim Charles on The Wire.

Detroit post-punk aughts establishment Protomartyr mark another notable add on, perhaps to see the long tail of their genre influence in incoming icy Londoners like Sports Team and Model/Actriz. From Honduras, hyperpop-mixing act Isabella Lovestory reprises a recent local stop for Boiler Room’s December show at the Concourse Project. Japan/Colorado hip-hop act Wez Atlas totes playful bilingual singles like “Overthink.”

Last October, New York up-and-comer Maiya The Don tapped the cultural consciousness with October’s orchestral-string-looping hip-hop track “Telfy,” referencing Telfar accessories. Puerto Rican rapper PJ Sin Suela, also a certified MD often integrating social just messages, struck his own chord with 2018 Bad Bunny collaboration "Cual Es Tu Plan?" Tangerine Dream’s pervasive influence landed in 1984, when the German electronica pioneers crafted the track "Love on a Real Train" for the Risky Business soundtrack.

For effusive songwriting, try cosmic country-influenced Canadian Julianna Riolino, emotionally steadfast Winspear Records act Barrie, or exploratory Richmond rapper McKinley Dixon.

From across the fest’s home state, notable additions include Houston’s Texas Piano Man himself, Robert Ellis, and Dallas rock troupe Teethe, who received a very unexpected shoutout from Kendall Jenner last year for slowcore song “Tag.” Raised in Katy, romantic rising R&B singer-songwriter Dende unveiled new EP Before We Crash this month.

All Austin additions in the announcement are: 1st Base Runner, Andrew Cashen, Annabelle Chairlegs, Austin Unconducted, BÖNDBREAKR, The Bright Light Social Hour, Broken Gold, Buenos Diaz, Calder Allen, Caramelo Haze, Cecilia and The Broken Hearts, Colin Houlihan's Utopia Quartet, Como Las Movies, Cotton Mather, Curse Mackey, Dale Watson, Daniel Fears, The Dead Coats, dj poolboi, Fuck Money, Geto Gala, Half Dream, Jane Leo, JaRon Marshall, Jeff Lofton, Jon Muq, J. Serrato, J Soulja, Kelley Mickwee, Lara Price, Larry Seaman, Lisa Morales, Lola Tried, Mass Minor, Moody Bank$, my education, Nemegata, Night Glitter, Patricia Vonne, Peelander-Z, Porcelain, Redbud, Sabrina Ellis, Semihelix, Sir Woman, Superfónicos, Thor Harris, Trucha Soul, Twain, Up Around The Sun, Urban Heat, Warren Hood, and Water Damage.

Find the full lineup announcement below:

Copyright © 2024 Austin Chronicle Corporation. All rights reserved.