The Austin Chronicle

https://www.austinchronicle.com/daily/books/2014-11-11/acreads-last-chance-to-vote/

#ACreads: Last Chance to Vote

By Robert Faires, November 11, 2014, 10:35am, Under the Covers

So far, the books discussed at the Austin Chronicle Book Club's online chats have been chosen by the paper's writers and staff. But for the next get-together on Dec. 8, you get to choose. For three weeks, we've been taking nominations, and before we close the book on them, so to speak, we're making one last call for your suggestions.

So far, #ACreads has favored fiction, and in the vein of Rebecca Makkai's The Hundred Year House and Merritt Tierce's Love Me Back, some readers have nominated Chasing the Sun by Austin writer Natalia Sylvester; 2013 Pulitzer Prize winner The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt; and Life After Life, by Kate Atkinson.

Would you like another foray into crime fiction, like our debut pick, The Long Goodbye? Or another trip into YA dystopia, à la The Maze Runner?

We've yet to pull a tome off the nonfiction shelf, and the fall has seen a bumper crop of interesting titles such as Lawrence Wright's Thirteen Days in September, about the Camp David accords, and Katha Pollitt's PRO: Reclaiming Abortion Rights. (In fact, the latter will be one of several books reviewed in a roundup of nonfiction recent releases in our Thanksgiving week issue. It'll cover biographies of women from Joan of Arc to Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis and the secret history of Wonder Woman.)

Or perhaps you can see yourself being in a holiday mood on the 8th of December? Maybe there's a favorite tale of the Yuletide that you'd like to talk about while you sip eggnog at your computer?

You have until noon Wednesday, Nov. 12, to let us know. Send an email to books@austinchronicle.com or tweet it to #ACreads.

Copyright © 2019 Austin Chronicle Corporation. All rights reserved.

The Austin Chronicle

https://www.austinchronicle.com/daily/books/2014-11-11/acreads-last-chance-to-vote/

#ACreads: Last Chance to Vote

By Robert Faires, November 11, 2014, 10:35am, Under the Covers

So far, the books discussed at the Austin Chronicle Book Club's online chats have been chosen by the paper's writers and staff. But for the next get-together on Dec. 8, you get to choose. For three weeks, we've been taking nominations, and before we close the book on them, so to speak, we're making one last call for your suggestions.

So far, #ACreads has favored fiction, and in the vein of Rebecca Makkai's The Hundred Year House and Merritt Tierce's Love Me Back, some readers have nominated Chasing the Sun by Austin writer Natalia Sylvester; 2013 Pulitzer Prize winner The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt; and Life After Life, by Kate Atkinson.

Would you like another foray into crime fiction, like our debut pick, The Long Goodbye? Or another trip into YA dystopia, à la The Maze Runner?

We've yet to pull a tome off the nonfiction shelf, and the fall has seen a bumper crop of interesting titles such as Lawrence Wright's Thirteen Days in September, about the Camp David accords, and Katha Pollitt's PRO: Reclaiming Abortion Rights. (In fact, the latter will be one of several books reviewed in a roundup of nonfiction recent releases in our Thanksgiving week issue. It'll cover biographies of women from Joan of Arc to Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis and the secret history of Wonder Woman.)

Or perhaps you can see yourself being in a holiday mood on the 8th of December? Maybe there's a favorite tale of the Yuletide that you'd like to talk about while you sip eggnog at your computer?

You have until noon Wednesday, Nov. 12, to let us know. Send an email to books@austinchronicle.com or tweet it to #ACreads.

Copyright © 2019 Austin Chronicle Corporation. All rights reserved.

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle