#ACreads: Last Chance to Vote

Tell us which book you'd like to discuss at our Dec. 8 chat

#ACreads: Last Chance to Vote

So far, the books discussed at the Austin Chronicle Book Club's online chats have been chosen by the paper's writers and staff. But for the next get-together on Dec. 8, you get to choose. For three weeks, we've been taking nominations, and before we close the book on them, so to speak, we're making one last call for your suggestions.

So far, #ACreads has favored fiction, and in the vein of Rebecca Makkai's The Hundred Year House and Merritt Tierce's Love Me Back, some readers have nominated Chasing the Sun by Austin writer Natalia Sylvester; 2013 Pulitzer Prize winner The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt; and Life After Life, by Kate Atkinson.

Would you like another foray into crime fiction, like our debut pick, The Long Goodbye? Or another trip into YA dystopia, à la The Maze Runner?

We've yet to pull a tome off the nonfiction shelf, and the fall has seen a bumper crop of interesting titles such as Lawrence Wright's Thirteen Days in September, about the Camp David accords, and Katha Pollitt's PRO: Reclaiming Abortion Rights. (In fact, the latter will be one of several books reviewed in a roundup of nonfiction recent releases in our Thanksgiving week issue. It'll cover biographies of women from Joan of Arc to Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis and the secret history of Wonder Woman.)

Or perhaps you can see yourself being in a holiday mood on the 8th of December? Maybe there's a favorite tale of the Yuletide that you'd like to talk about while you sip eggnog at your computer?

You have until noon Wednesday, Nov. 12, to let us know. Send an email to books@austinchronicle.com or tweet it to #ACreads.

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for almost 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

READ MORE
More #ACreads
#ACreads December Pick: <i>Ethan Frome</i>
#ACreads December Pick: Ethan Frome
Warm up to Edith Wharton’s frostbitten classic

Kimberley Jones, Nov. 20, 2014

Lace Back Up for <i>The Maze Runner</i>
Lace Back Up for The Maze Runner
Join our #ACreads book club 7-8pm tonight to talk about book and movie

Kimberley Jones, Sept. 22, 2014

More by Robert Faires
Introducing the 2019 Class of the Austin Arts Hall of Fame
Introducing the 2019 Class of the Austin Arts Hall of Fame
The stories behind the art transformers of this year's Hall of Fame inductees

May 24, 2019

"Rosa Nussbaum: Horizonland" at Women & Their Work
The artist draws on her experience as a stranger in a strange land without her own wheels, viewing the world through the lens of a car window

May 24, 2019

KEYWORDS FOR THIS POST

#ACreads, Austin Chronicle Book Club, Rebecca Makkai, Merritt Tierce, Lawrence Wright, Katha Pollitt

MORE IN THE ARCHIVES
NEWSLETTERS
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Updates for SXSW 2019

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle