Illumine Honorees Announced

Douglas Brinkley, Sarah Bird, Joe Ely to be awarded

Illumine Honorees Announced

The Austin Public Library Friends Foundation shines a light on Texas’ big hitters in literary achievement with its second annual Illumine Awards.

This year four writers and one library advocate will be celebrated for their unique contributions to the world of letters: Douglas Brinkley, nonfiction (his biography of Walter Cronkite came out this May); Sarah Bird, fiction; Joe Ely, songwriting; Liz Garton Scanlon, children’s lit; and Darryl Tocker, who’ll receive the Luminary Award for literary patron (Tocker is the Executive Director of the Tocker Foundation, which provides support for libraries in rural Texas communities).

The honorees will be fêted at an awards dinner on Nov. 9 at the Hilton Austin. Texas Monthly editor Jake Silverstein will do double-duty as emcee and a presenter; other presenters include Tom Staley, director of the Harry Ransom Center; actor/filmmaker/advocate Turk Pipkin; Anita Rizley, Youth Program Coordinator at Austin Public Library; and Pat Smith, Executive Director of the Texas Library Association.

Tickets for the event come at a pretty steep price – $125 for individual seats, while whole tables run in the four digits – but we’re big fans of the cause: The Austin Public Library Friends Foundation was established to spread the good word of Austin’s public library system and to help raise money for its continued growth. (We're looking at you, 2016.)

More info can be found here.

More Illumine Awards
Illuminating Austin Authors
Illuminating Austin Authors
Dagoberto Gilb, Gregory Curtis among Illumine honorees

Kimberley Jones, Nov. 9, 2011

More by Kimberley Jones
Cranky loner (and beloved character actor) faces mortality

Oct. 13, 2017

Future Imperfect: Our Favorite Dystopian Films
Our Favorite Dystopian Films
VOTE: Deadly roller derby, sad clones, and a Road Warrior duke it out

Sept. 28, 2017


Illumine Awards, Illumine, Austin Public Library Friends Foundation, David Brinkley, Sarah Bird, Joe Ely, Liz Garton Scanlon, Darryl Tocker, Turk Pipkin, Tim Staley, Jake Silverstein, Anita Rizley, Pat Smith

AC Daily, Events and Promotions, Luvdoc Answers

Breaking news, recommended events, and more

Official Chronicle events, promotions, and giveaways

Updates for SXSW 2017

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)