The Austin Chronicle

WLT 2010 Book Awards

By Kimberley Jones, January 10, 2011, 5:57pm, Under the Covers

The Writers' League of Texas celebrates its 2010 awards with a shindig next week at BookPeople.

Austin authors Bill Minutaglio and W. Michael Smith took the nonfiction prize for their biography Molly Ivins: A Rebel Life. Other awards include Susan B.A. Somers-Willett’s Quiver for best poetry collection, Phillip Hoose’s Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice for best children’s book, and Lorraine M. López’s Homicide Survivors Picnic and Other Stories for best fiction.

All the awardees will be honored at the WLT’s monthly third Thursday meeting on Thursday, Jan. 20 at 7pm at BookPeople. Swing by, support Texas authors, and why not buy a book (or four) while you’re there?

Copyright © 2018 Austin Chronicle Corporation. All rights reserved.