Texas Teen Book Festival Author Lineup Announced

Is your favorite among this year’s stellar array of writers?

The Texas Teen Book Festival announced its 2019 author lineup today, featuring award-winning authors Mary H.K. Choi, David Yoon, Gabby Rivera, Abdi Nazemian, Christopher Myers, Lauren Shippen, and more. The 11th anniversary of the free one-day literary festival will brighten the campus of Southwestern University on Saturday, Oct. 12, this year.

“As we move to our new home at Southwestern University,” says TTBF Program Director Meghan Goel, “I look forward to reconnecting with the thousands of attendees who have supported this festival for 11 years and meeting new readers in Georgetown.”

Yes, all citizens who’ve survived this summer’s punishing heat – whether they’re fans of terrifying thrillers, star-crossed romances, epic fantasies, or dystopian futures – will enjoy author sessions and panels, book signings, workshops, and vendor displays perfect for young adult readers.

If we tell you that there’ll be more than 30 authors at the festival this year, the most obvious response will be “Yeah? Which authors?” So here’s a link to the official website for complete information. And here’s that list of authors:

Abdi Nazemian: Like a Love Story

Akilah Hughes: Obviously: Stories from My Timeline

Akwaeke Emezi: Pet

Alex Temblador: Secrets of the Casa Rosada

Alex Villasante: The Grief Keeper

Amy Rose Capetta: The Lost Coast

Arvin Ahmadi: Girl Gone Viral

Bill Konigsburg: The Music of What Happens

Brandy Colbert: The Revolution of Birdie Randolph

Brittney Morris: Slay

Christopher Myers: Make Me a World imprint

David Yoon: Frankly in Love

e. E. Charlton-Trujillo: Fat Angie: Rebel Girl Revolution

Erika Sánchez: I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

Gabby Rivera: Juliet Takes a Breath

Gretchen McNeil: #murderfunding

Jennifer Donaldson: I Know You Remember

Jennifer Donnelly: Stepsister

Joelle Charbonneau: Verify

Kat Cho: Wicked Fox

Kate Williams: The Babysitters Coven

Katharyn Blair: The Beckoning Shadow

Katy Rose Pool: There Will Come a Darkness

Kristina Pérez: Wild Savage Stars

Lamar Giles: Spin

Lauren Shippen: The Infinite Noise

Margaret Owen: The Merciful Crow

Mary H.K. Choi: Permanent Record

Misa Sugiura: This Time Will Be Different

Nandini Bajpai: A Match Made in Mehendi

Renée Ahdieh: The Beautiful

Rory Powers: Wilder Girls

Sandhya Menon: There's Something About Sweetie

Thanhha Lai: Butterfly Yellow

Tricia Levenseller: Warrior of the Wild

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Behind the scenes at The Austin Chronicle

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle