2018 Arts Hall of Famers Announced

Kleins, Hamrick, Naimpally, and Blumensaadt to be inducted

The Austin Critics Table has named the 17th group of individuals to be inducted into the Austin Arts Hall of Fame, honoring leaders in dance, theatre, and arts philanthropy.

Kathy Dunn Hamrick (Photo by John Anderson)

As with the previous inductees, the five Austinites being honored this year have made significant contributions to the community over many years – some as artists, some as educators, some as patrons, some as a combination of these, but all as friends of and advocates for the arts. The 2018 class of inductees includes:

Norman Blumensaadt (Different Stages) – company founder, artistic director, director, actor

Kathy Dunn Hamrick (Kathy Dunn Hamrick Dance Company, Cafe Dance) – company founder, artistic director, choreographer, dancer, educator

Michael and Jeanne Klein (Blanton Museum of Art, The Contemporary Austin, Ransom Center, et al.) – patrons, board members, civic leaders, arts advocates

Anuradha Naimpally (Austin Dance India, Cafe Dance) – company founder, artistic director, dancer, choreographer, educator

The new Hall of Famers will be recognized at the 2017-18 Austin Critics Table Awards ceremony, to be held on Monday, June 4, 7pm, at Cap City Comedy Club, 8120 Research. The ceremony is free, and the public is welcome.

The Critics Table – an informal affiliation of writers who cover culture for publications and websites in Central Texas – will release the nominations for the most outstanding achievements in dance, classical music, visual arts, design, and theatre in the past year in early May.

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 36 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

More Austin Critics Table Awards
The Critics Table's Crème de la Crème
The Critics Table's Crème de la Crème
The winners of the 2017-18 Austin Critics Table Awards

Robert Faires, June 5, 2018

Critics Name Cream of the Cultural Crop
Critics Name Cream of the Cultural Crop
The nominees for the 2017-18 Austin Critics Table Awards

Robert Faires, May 14, 2018

More by Robert Faires
MASS Gallery Moving
MASS Gallery Moving
Gallery leaving 507 Calles Saturday, selling art to fund move

July 19, 2018

Forklift Danceworks' <i>Dove Springs Swims</i>
Forklift Danceworks' Dove Springs Swims
The company's latest community production showed why Dove Springs' pool matters to that neighborhood and to all of us as well

July 20, 2018


Austin Critics Table Awards, Austin Arts Hall of Fame, Austin Critics Table, Norman Blumensaadt, Kathy Dunn Hamrick, Michael Klein, Jeanne Klein, Anuradha Naimpally, Austin Dance India, Blanton Museum of Art, Kathy Dunn Hamrick Dance Company, Different Stages

AC Daily, Events and Promotions, Luvdoc Answers

Breaking news, recommended events, and more

Official Chronicle events, promotions, and giveaways

Updates for SXSW 2018

All questions answered (satisfaction not guaranteed)

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle