31-60 of 158 entries
Opinion: Medicare for All Is the Timely Solution for Texas Health Care
Medicare for All Is the Timely Solution for Texas Health Care
With the recent expiration of pandemic-era health insurance requirements, millions of Texans may lose their Medicaid coverage over the coming months. It doesn’t have to be that way.

Yosha Singh, April 13, 2023

Opinion: Online Voter Registration Saves Money and Reduces Fraud. So Why Won’t Texas Allow It?
Online Voter Registration Saves Money and Reduces Fraud. So Why Won’t Texas Allow It?
Travis County’s voter registrar explains why online voter registration is good for business

Bruce Elfant, March 30, 2023

Opinion: Turn Off the Lights! Birds Are Depending on Us.
Turn Off the Lights! Birds Are Depending on Us.
During migration season, we can lower bird mortality rates by lowering lights

Caley Zuzula, March 23, 2023

Opinion: More Trains, Buses, and Housing Options Mean a More Affordable Austin for All
More Trains, Buses, and Housing Options Mean a More Affordable Austin for All
Transit Forward’s executive director explains why Project Connect is vital to Austin’s future

Bill McCamley, March 2, 2023

Opinion: The End of Copper Wire Landline Service Is Not Progress
The End of Copper Wire Landline Service Is Not Progress
The reliability and security that came with copper wire phone lines cannot be replaced by internet-based phone services

William Camden, March 2, 2023

Opinion: Another School Shooting – This Is Our America Now
Another School Shooting – This Is Our America Now
We are a country that loves its guns more than the children we've lost to gun violence

Heather Lewis, Feb. 23, 2023

Opinion: From Mentorship to Pay – Smart Solutions to the Teacher Shortage
From Mentorship to Pay – Smart Solutions to the Teacher Shortage
An Austin teacher has ideas for what the Texas Legislature can do to fix our educator crisis

Matthew Balter, Feb. 16, 2023

Opinion: Where Is the Support for Minority Faculty to Succeed at UT?
Where Is the Support for Minority Faculty to Succeed at UT?
A retired professor reflects on how little has changed at Texas’ flagship university since he first started teaching nearly 50 years ago

Dan Acosta, Feb. 9, 2023

Opinion: For All Their Wins, Abbott, Patrick, and Paxton Have Lost So Much More
For All Their Wins, Abbott, Patrick, and Paxton Have Lost So Much More
A Texan reflects on the terrible, horrible, no good, very bad GOP leadership

Al Lindsey, Jan. 26, 2023

Opinion: As a Transgender Person, I Am Afraid That Staying in Texas May Harm Me in the Future
As a Transgender Person, I Am Afraid That Staying in Texas May Harm Me in the Future
Why does Texas attorney general Ken Paxton want to know about me?

Kat Steele, Jan. 5, 2023

Opinion: The Zilker Vision Plan Is Deeply Flawed and Should Be Scrapped
The Zilker Vision Plan Is Deeply Flawed and Should Be Scrapped
The newly released draft plan is a recipe for how to ruin a park

David Weinberg, Dec. 22, 2022

Opinion: Regenerative Agriculture Can Save the Southwest
Regenerative Agriculture Can Save the Southwest
We can end drought by restoring soil and local water cycles

Elizabeth Heilman, Dec. 1, 2022

Opinion: Gratitude Is Good for You
Gratitude Is Good for You
It’s the perfect time to thank the people in our lives who never get enough recognition

Kriya Handa, Nov. 23, 2022

Opinion: Flawed Cemetery Rules Process Violates City Council Resolution and Betrays Public Trust
Flawed Cemetery Rules Process Violates City Council Resolution and Betrays Public Trust
The Austin Parks and Recreation Department is trying to force new rules that could result in the desecration of hundreds of graves

Sharon Weintraub, Nov. 10, 2022

Opinion: We Should All Fight for Human Rights in Iran
We Should All Fight for Human Rights in Iran
Although the government has tried to silence the people of Iran by shutting down the internet and suppressing protesters, we can use our collective global voice to speak out

Mahsa Monshizadegan, Oct. 27, 2022

Opinion: Sex Ed Is Not the Enemy – It’s Mental Health Care
Sex Ed Is Not the Enemy – It’s Mental Health Care
We can help our communities lead happier, healthier, and more productive lives by increasing access to reproductive health resources

Isabella Verratti, Oct. 6, 2022

Opinion: How Los Verdes Helped Me Find a Community in the Sport I Love
How Los Verdes Helped Me Find a Community in the Sport I Love
Austin FC supporters group embodies “Y’all Means All” motto

Harley Hightower, Sept. 29, 2022

Opinion: Wildflower Center Fails Its Conservation Mission by Lighting Up Its Landscape
Wildflower Center Fails Its Conservation Mission by Lighting Up Its Landscape
Field of Light exhibit glamorizes outdoor landscape lighting and ignores light pollution’s harmful effects on wildlife, plants, and human health

Soll Sussman, Sept. 22, 2022

Opinion: Arming Teachers Is Not the Answer. I Know What Is.
Arming Teachers Is Not the Answer. I Know What Is.
To be safe, schools need funding for security personnel, equipment, and maintenance, argues an Austin middle school teacher

Marissa Castañón-Hernandez, Sept. 15, 2022

Opinion: Greg Abbott, Slayer of Tampon Tax! Hero to Women Everywhere!
Greg Abbott, Slayer of Tampon Tax! Hero to Women Everywhere!
Oh, now he cares about women’s health in Texas?

Rosalie Berg, Sept. 1, 2022

Opinion: We Deserve Project Connect
We Deserve Project Connect
The executive director of Transit Forward makes the case for the city’s ambitious public transportation expansion

Bill McCamley, Aug. 25, 2022

Opinion: Can Project Connect Actually Meet Our Needs?
Can Project Connect Actually Meet Our Needs?
The question remains if Project Connect will produce a public transit system that people will choose over their own cars

Barbara Epstein, Aug. 11, 2022

Opinion: How to Stop Drug Overdoses in Austin
How to Stop Drug Overdoses in Austin
An overdose prevention center could dramatically reduce overdose rates

Claire Zagorski, Aug. 4, 2022

Opinion: Musk – Make Austin an Ecological Paradise
Musk – Make Austin an Ecological Paradise
Time for Tesla to lead the green charge in Austin

Jessica Edwards, July 28, 2022

Opinion: Los Verdes, a Fourth-Grader, and the Power of Protest
Los Verdes, a Fourth-Grader, and the Power of Protest
How Austin FC helped me talk to my daughter about Uvalde

Miguel Fernández, July 21, 2022

Opinion: Is Austin Energy Committed to Sustainability and Affordability? Its Rate Proposal Raises Doubts.
Is Austin Energy Committed to Sustainability and Affordability? Its Rate Proposal Raises Doubts.
The rate hike is bad for consumers and runs counter to the city’s climate goals

Kaiba White, July 14, 2022

Opinion: Congress – Pass Federal Privacy Legislation to Support Texas Small Businesses
Congress – Pass Federal Privacy Legislation to Support Texas Small Businesses
The co-founder of Tiny House Coffee Roasters offers a solution to the patchwork system of privacy laws that is crushing small businesses

Blake Thomas, July 7, 2022

Opinion: Project Dis-Connect – Austin’s Back to the Future
Project Dis-Connect – Austin’s Back to the Future
Before burying the light rail below Austin’s unique street character and beautiful lake, we should take a breath to reconsider the design ideas and ballooning costs

Karen McGraw, July 7, 2022

Opinion: An Open Letter to My Girls in a Post-<i>Roe</i> World
An Open Letter to My Girls in a Post-Roe World
A mother explains why she left Texas and what she pledges to do to provide abortion care access to her children

Savanna Essig-Fox, June 30, 2022

Opinion: Hungry Children Need Healthy School Meals to Thrive
Hungry Children Need Healthy School Meals to Thrive
A pandemic-era program that supported hungry children is set to disappear at the end of June. Pediatricians urge a new focus on food for kids.

Elizabeth Mann, June 23, 2022

« 1    BACK    1   2   3   4   5   6     NEXT    6 »
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Keep up with happenings around town

Kevin Curtin's bimonthly cannabis musings

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle